My First CGC Comic!

Wolverine #66: Old Man Logan - Dynamic Forces Variant

I have been wanting to check out some CGC comics for a while now.  I really want a #165 9.8 (or better) copy.  But in my travels I really didn’t find anything worth picking up – either the grade was too low, the book wasn’t one of my favorites or people were asking too much for a nothing issue.  Well, I went into Salem, MA the other day and walked into Harrison’s Comics and saw this – a 9.8 graded copy of Wolverine #66 – the start of Old Man Logan.  An issue I had yet to acquire – and this was a beautiful copy!

9.8 - NM/M Comic

I believe they were asking too much – and even tried to haggle them down a bit – but ultimately they didn’t budge and I still went for it.  I really struggled with whether or not to purchase – but in the end I did, mainly because this is a Herb Trimpe cover.  Seriously, that’s why I did it in the end.  I respect and admire Trimpe’s work that much I decided it was worth the money.

Herb Trimpe - A True Classic!

8 responses to “My First CGC Comic!

  1. Here you go!
    Good luck!

  2. Very, Very cool Ryan! Love it!!!

    • Thanks – I have this one – but hope I don’t get too sucked into buying too many CGC – because I will only go after 9.8 or better…

      • Well, I have 5 CGC books, and you would be able to tell why these are the five…

        -Secret Invasion Blank Cover Variant #1 CGC SS 9.8: Rom sketch on front cover by Sal Buscema, Dire Wraith sketch on back cover by Michael Golden.

        -Hulk (2008) #1 – Hero Initiative “Hulk 100″ Variant, sketch on front cover by David Nakayama. CGC SS 9.6.

        -Hulk (2008) # – Hero Initiative “Hulk 100″ Variant, sketches on front and back covers by Greg Pak. CGC SS 9.2.

        -Incredible Hulk #2 – CGC 4.0.

        -Incredible Hulk #1 – CGC SS 4.5, signed by Stan Lee.

        Welcome to the club!

        ~G.

      • Thanks Gary – looking into getting some of my favorite issues graded – as well as my #1.

Leave a Reply

