A True RARE Grail!

I always suspect shenanigans when someone selling an item tells me how rare and desired it is (*cough, cough Stretch Hulk cough, cough) only to try to sell me the item for a ridiculous, inflated price that I would NEVER even get close to when trying to re-sell it.  Anyways, there was one Hulk item that I clamored over, even when I first started collecting Hulk.  Not that it was rare or anything – but I wanted the Hulk Toy Chest – the 1978, green top, purple base, humongous Hulk Toy Chest.  The one above and below here.

But if you notice, mine came completely clean – void of all stickers.  I like how it looks clean but I am also looking into trying to restore it back to its former glory – stickers and all, including the eye stickers – which seem to be impossible to find.  The other original stickers, well, they make an appearace from time to time in various conditions, but the eye stickers still attached seem to be the hardest and rarest to find.  Back when Hulk Space was still in its glory days I was conversing with another forum member.  I wasn’t totally sold on the idea that the toy box ever even came with stickers.  He came up with a few pics: 

Hulk Ad

Now, if you look at the original box (below) for the Hulk toy box you can read on the side that the labels didn’t come pre-applied.  I have a theory on why so many of these Hulk toy boxes show up without the eyes – maybe people (and I am talking to you lazy parents!) never put them on!  It would explain why I have never seen one in person – and there are so few with even the residue from the glue left on the eyes.

The original Hulk Toy Box... Box

So what do you guys think?  Should I bother restoring mine o should I leave it alone – keep in mind restorations are hardly ever worth the money you put into them, as most collectors want originals, and a lot of time restorations are viewed as “undesirable”.  But I am still on the fence about restoring mine – as I think it would look incredible! Let me know – vote below!

*People still try to insist that the strecth Hulk is hugely desired – but the truth is there are a few sitting on ebay – and have been sitting – even though the sellers have lowered the prices.  Mainly because these item’s value has been bloated by a certain seller – who now is feeling the burn as he is trying to sell off his Stretch Hulks and is unable to.)

12 responses to “A True RARE Grail!

  1. Dave (JadeGiant)

    This is a tough one Ryan. As much as I would like to see mine restored to it’s former glory I think there is something about the clean look it currently has. I was considering something similar to what you are contemplating … and then I heard you say something about restoring yours (on HS) so I thought I would sit back and see what you come up with. I say go for it – what’s the worst thing that can happen? If you don’t like it you can remove them.

    • I am leaning toward restoring it – but I won’t do anything unless I get that front sticker down pat. I just found a great program that I can scan in images and play with them – so I am halfway there…

      • I have been looking for one of these forever. Can anyone help me find one? I wish I still had mine from childhood. My dad recently passed and the toy bin is a special reminder of him. Thanks for any help I can get.

  2. What about having it repainted? It would be durable than stickers and at least this way you can have it look like the orginal promo photos .

    • That’s a thought… but I kind of want to stay true to the original as much as I can… so decals is the way I would go, if anything…

  3. good post–and timely. i was just talking to my mom and she confirms that the stickers were not pre-applied. she vividly remembers putting them on the toy herself on x-mas eve, using a provided sticker sheet. so, unused stickers sheets must exist. i say hunt these down, but don’t put them on. if you have a: the outer box, b: the unused stickers, c: the toy itself…well, you’ve got THE holy grail of hulk toys in my book.

  4. Dave (JadeGiant)

    looking forward to seeing what you come up with Ryan!

  5. I guarantee it will be more desirable with the stickers unapplied & in the box this way You have as close to “MINT” condition as You can get. That is a rare item to start with, even beat up you’d be hard pressed to find another. Good Luck in Your search, I hope You find them.

  6. I would love to pick up one of these but never seem to find them on ebay. If anyone sees one for sale, shoot me an email stphibbs@yahoo.com

  7. Well, well…it’s like mini-HulkSpace on here! Good to see everyone! Mine is clean, too, except for the Sun Valley sticker on the back.

  8. I know – it would be nice if Hulk Space came back – but I have no problem with people from there coming here to converse. It’s actually really nice!

Leave a Reply

