R.I.P. Ernie Chan

A very sad day indeed – a wonderful talent and great man Ernie Chan has passed away.  I was lucky to get a piece of original art from him (above) but never got to meet him in person.  R.I.P.

7 responses to “R.I.P. Ernie Chan

  1. hulkandthor#1!

    Aw man that’s heartbreaking, he was one of my favorite inkers of Sal Buscema. He inked one of my favorite Hulk books of all time, issue 217. May God bless his soul and grant him everlasting peace.

  2. Man, that’s sad. I was contacting him about a commission late last year and I never went through with it, because money was too tight. Easily one of my favourite Hulk artists. R.I.P.

  3. He was one of the best. I got a commission last year from him. It’s still one of my favorite pieces in my collection.

  4. Last year, I got a sketch from him at Pittsburgh Comicon. A terrific gentleman who was humbled by the attention he was receiving. I can’t believe I was the only one who asked him for a Hulk sketch then! (Most people requested Conan or Red Sonja.) The world is poorer for him no longer being here. May he rest in peace. Condolences to his family.

  5. Sal Buscema taught me how to start a great drawing…and Ernie taught me how to finish one. This is terribly sad news. I didn’t realize he had cancer.
    Calling Ernie just an inker was a misnomer; that’s why I loved his title of “Embellisher”. Whenever someone says, “Hulk”, it’s Sal & Ernie’s Hulk that pops into my head.

    Ernie’s Hulk covers are some of my absolute favorites. He inspired me to study anatomy, and his hatchwork is breathtaking. He made every panel and every character better, while keeping the integrity and style of the pencils.

    The Hulk mourns; another friend gone.

  6. Oh no that is sad….but how did he dies? Cancer?

  7. My condolences to his family and friends. And fanboys too. I received 3 commissions from him and.the latest was a couple of months ago. He told me he was sick and in the hospital for something, but never said it was cancer. That is truly heartbreaking news.

Leave a Reply

