Jerry Macaluso Kit (1999)

Jerry Macaluso Hulk Sculpt

Jerry Macaluso Hulk Sculpt

Look at that snarl!

Look at that snarl!

I have a friend from the Statue Forum that has an amazing Hulk collection himself – check in tomorrow because I will be posting pics from his collection here! – but, Jade Giant – or JG – has a few rare pieces in his collection that are to freakin’ die for.  Last Monday I went into Reading and in this great Comic Shop called Comically Speaking (highly recommended!) the owner there had a couple of rare pieces that I picked up.  I picked up quite a few things but 2 pieces that are just extremely rare that I couldn’t help but pick up.  This is one of them!  Not much is known about this very rare kit – a few things that are known though are that Jerry Macaluso of SOTA toys back in 1999 sculpted this Hulk in an attempt to get a Marvel License.  Here is the mock-up of the promo artwork:

It was supposed to be a two piece sculpt – Hulk vs. Wolverine – but only the Hulk was made.  And because Marvel didn’t pick up this license then this piece was never made.  A master sculpt and one mock-up for Marvel was made.  Then someone from the SOTA toy company got a hold of it and did an extremely small run.  It’s unknown for sure exactly how many were made but it’s estimated that there were only 10 to 20.

Hulk Claw! - No Base.

Hulk Claw! - No Base.

Side View

Side View

Like I said – only 10 to 20 – but no one really knows!  When I walked into Comically Speaking and saw this kit I was floored!  A seller on ebay recently tried to sell his but put it up for $1,200.  First off, he totally lied in his description of the sculpt claiming that only 4 were made.  Then, he wrote that because there’s only 4 and there’s 50 exclusive Hulk vs. Spiderman dios that sells for over $1,000 then this must be worth the same!  Well, sorry buddy, that’s not exactly how it works.  I paid what I thought was a reasonable price – if it was anymore I wouldn’t have picked it up – but the owner seemed to know exactly what he was doing.  By the way, the ebay auction never even finished because he was reported as a fraud for lying about the item he was selling.  But no worries, no had bid and no one was going to buy this for that ridiculous price anyways.

Kit vs. Maquette

Kit vs. Maquette

It’s not very big, shown here with the other rare item I got (that’s right, a repainted grey Hulk Maquette, I will be posting this next week)- but it’s such a unique take on the Hulk, great pose!  There’s so much potential there – it’s so masterfully sculpted and has the fluid motion and raw power of the Hulk that no other sculptor has ever captured!  It’s unbelievable that Marvel passed on this.  I know for a fact that JG has one – and this guy has one – he made his into an unbeatable dio that is surely a great piece for any fan of the Hulk or Terminator! 

Hulk vs Leader!

Hulk vs Leader!

This is a grail – a grail to be sure – and since I’ve seen Hulk vs. Wolvie and Terminator in this pose I decided to go with Hulk vs. Leader!  The Leader is from the Face-Off 2-pack.  I like the McFarlane Leader even though people say his head looks like a pair of testicles.  This sculpt doesn’t have a base.  It had none to speak of.  Most of the sculpts I have seen have a custom base.  I’m thinking of making one – but I will have to see.

Leader does not stand a chance!

Leader does not stand a chance!

5 responses to “Jerry Macaluso Kit (1999)

  1. Dude, dont be shy..how much did you pay for it ??? Awesome statue.

    Cant wait to see more pics of your grey hulk repainted maquette.

  2. congrats Ratchet – glad to see you scored one … all Hulk collectors should have this unique piece. I am amazed at the perspective and musculature every time I look at this. I would be interested to know what you had to pay if you don’t mind shooting me an email or PM. I have an extra and have considered selling … trying to determine a fair price for me as the seller and a potential buyer.

  3. You have an extra?!? How did you manage that? By the way PM sent 🙂

  4. John (hulkpitt)

    I have one of the Jerry Macaluso SOTA Hulk Statues, I pursued it for a couple of years before I secured one, I bought it on eBay it was a good price back in 2006. Later the identity of the sculptor came to light via JG’s posting his at the SF, Jerry chimed in to the thread and let us know it was his work but it was cast without his consent.
    I was pleased to find out who had sculpted it, when you look at the musculature and compare it to Jerry’s other work most resentley the Street Fighter PF’s it has his stamp all over it.

    I know of another Hulk collector that has one so I can account for four of the 10-20 that were cast.

    This is a grail for many reasons the sculpt the pose the sculptor and the back story all stack to make a very interesting Hulk statue.

  5. Brother
    Frank here from Indonesia
    is that statue send it into indonesia?do you accept westren union
    pls let me know

Leave a Reply

