Hulk #11 (2009) – The Review

Hulk #11

Hulk #11

I am convinced – anyone who is still in favor of this series thinking that the story is “fun” or “tongue in cheek” is just simply retarded.  I’m sorry – but after reading this I am SURE that Loeb has completely lost it.  What the hell happened to my favorite comic?  Loeb can’t even keep continuity from issue to issue – for example; the last issue ended with the Hulk excited about battling the Red Hulk to the death – this issue begins with the Hulk saying he doesn’t want to fight him… wait, WHAT?  That makes no sense!  Loeb owes McGuinness a hug for keeping this series going as the art is freakin’ fantastic – but McG owes Loeb a punch in the face for making him draw his ridiculous plots – if you can call them that!

Wait... what the hell is Namor doing?  Is that how he runs?  How uncomfortable looking...

Wait... what the hell is Namor doing? Is that how he runs? How uncomfortable looking...

So, like I said, the story starts with the Grand Master (GM) informing us that each group of fighters have been split up and sent to an unfamiliar territory to duke it out to the death.  Ummm… – what the hell was the point of gathering a whole team together just to split them up to fight?  This is what I’m talking about – ridiculous!  Whoever reads that and thinks “Cool!” needs to be hit in the head with a tack hammer.  So, as I told you before, the Hulk tells the Red Hulk that he doesn’t want to fight him – instead they should team up and take on the GM.  The Red Hulk calls the Hulk a “milksop” (another diversion into thinking who the Red Hulk is – are we now supposed to think he’s Ross?  But the was there at the end of issue 6 looking down at the defeated Red Hulk!  What the hell?) and says he’d never fight side to side with him.  By the way, they are fighting in Namor’s kingdom.

Surfer fights Terrax – but the Surfer has no idea who he is fighting – he just wants to save the love of his life as they battle in the Microverse.  Whatever, this fight is boring… moving on, Namor is fighting the Tiger Shark (who has a new dentist and has fitted him with brand new adamantium teeth!) in the dimension of the Mindless One.  And, this is so beautifully illustrated!  Especially the splash where TS takes a bite out of Namor’s neck! 

Namor will have a hickey after this!

Namor will have a hickey after this!

The Surfer and Baron Mordo fight on Surfer’s home planet.  That’s all I have to say about that.  Anyways, back to Hulk and Red Hulk – they continue to throw punches as Banner tries to convince Red to fight WITH him.  The Hulk seems to be dominating the fight at this point.  The GM and his brother the Collector are watching in dismay as each battle seems to be too evenly matched.  They decide to spice things up a bit.  So, Galactus, angered by his missing herald, demands to have the Surfer back or he will not only eat his planet but he will also travel to Strange’s and Mordo’s planet and eat those as well.  TS and Namor have an unexpected guest as Dormammu demands that they take him back to their dimension so he can take over the Earth.  If you don’t know who Dormammu is then you need to read more Defender comics…  Alright, let’s not forget about Surfer and Terrax who is visited by the Psycho Man who is driving them insane.

Back at Namor’s kingdom we see that the Red Hulk has taken control of the fight with Banner.  The Red Hulk takes a trident and skewers the Hulk with it.  He announces “Mission Accomplished.  The Hulk is Dead.”  Can you imagine that IS it?  I wouldn’t put it past Loeb to kill off my favorite character at this point.

Hulk is dead?  I wish it was the Red Hulk... or Loeb...

Hulk is dead? I wish it was the Red Hulk... or Loeb...

Like I stated before, Loeb can’t write through an entire issue without contradicting himself.  I started reading at 2:31pm and I was finished reading at 2:33pm – that’s even harder to swallow when the comic is now $3.99.  Yeah, Marvel I noticed the price hike.  Thanks for finding yet another way to screw us over…  Oh yeah!  Don’t forget about the amazingly innocuous “Wolverine” variant cover.  That was sarcasm by the way.  Grade: D-

 

Hulk #11 Variant

Hulk #11 Variant

 

28 responses to “Hulk #11 (2009) – The Review

  1. Hey Ratch-I agree with you 100% I’ve been reading the(incredible)HULK since 1978 and I couldn’t wait to pick it up every month,BUT now -well the “thrills” just not there any more-Thank-you Mr.Loeb!I feel like I’m reading a book that was written for a six year old by a confused six year old. I used to enjoy Ed McGuinness’s art work and style but I’m getting a bit tired of it,its like every page is a Splash page.And, lastly you’re right about the “WOLVERINE” variant cover what was the point??? but the Art Adams one was nice.

  2. “I feel like I’m reading a book that was written for a six year old by a confused six year old”

    Great quote.

    I know what you mean – I like how, on the second page Hulk explains to Red Hulk how they now have gills behind their ears so they can fight underwater. He explains that – in the most ridiculous way possible – but doesn’t bother explaining ANYTHING else – like where is Rick – why is he A-Bomb? Who is the Red Hulk? What happened to anything that went on in the first 6 issues?

    By the way, did you hear about Spiderman coming in the future to investigate who the Red Hulk in issue#600? That makes a lot of sense. Why is Spiderman investigating?

    • Hector Rivera

      Im sure u noticed as well…but…the drawings are sooo big so he doesnt have to write as much. The story arc in 1-6 completely vanished. Where is Rick? what happened to him and how did he become A-Bomb? too many holes…not enough answers. I get soo excited each month only to be let down.

  3. Loeb: I have a problem. I only have 3 pages worth of plots.

    McGuinness: No Worries, I’ll stretch it out for the issue, then you’ll have two months to figure out where you want to go next.

    My problem is I think McGuinness is just passable as an artist. Nothing special. A little too cartoony for my taste. As far as Loeb goes, I think his kid is actually writing the book. I just can’t come up with anything more plausible.

  4. i do love the covers for the red hulk comics but other than that the first 7 were great comics great i have not got the chance two read # 8 #9 #10 or #11 yet but have them. oh is it true that their going to end the red hulk comics soon

  5. it’s a shame they have to drag this garbage into issue #600.

    i for one have a problem with the #600 for everybody cause alot of them weren’t even in their “book” for 40-50 some issues….and really how long it gonna take to restart thor AGAIN, probably not long.

    • Isn’t it funny though… they re-start the comics to spike the sales – and then they are going to # it to a number that most comics wouldn’t have reached yet – to spike sales.

  6. Its just mindless fun(and not good fun at that) i miss the old days we’ll never get a writer like Peter David. Probably this time next year we’ll see Greg Pak and Arthur Adams back on the series we can only wonder…

  7. Hulk Not Dead…Hulk Strong!

  8. Hulk-Man(returning all the time)

    How the “Hulk” is that supposed to go thru hulk unless it’s adamantium even then hulk would heal and beat the crap out of Rulk

  9. “Mission Accomplished”

    Hahahahahah sounds like Iraq, but it wont ever end.

    If Loeb kills off the Hulk then he’ll stop writing for it too, knowing Marvel they will bring Hulk back with a different writer or alternate continuity. I see this as a good thing.

  10. Hulk-Man(returning all the time)

    Ratchet: Mission accomplished… Loeb’s dead
    Pak : Now I get my job back!
    Hulk Fans : HALLELUJA! OH THE LORD LOVES US!!
    Narrarator : Too bad this is an alternate universe…

  11. Mercenary Nonsense

    thats it? if loeb actually did kill him off i expect something ironic to happen to him like he gets in a car accident and the car he gets in a acident with that green hulk car u posted not to long ago

    • Hulk-Man(returning all the time)

      Yeah and the green fists punch thru his body MUAHAHA!
      Headline News: Writer who kills off Hulk gets killed by Hulk car “I should’ve killed off the hulk car too…” – Jeph loebs soul

  12. After reading Issue #11, I have decided not to buy anymore issues in the Red Hulk series.

    The storyline is utter garbage, makes no sense, and while $4 isnt a whole lot of money, I still felt like someone RAPED me after reading the latest issue.

    How can Loeb get away with this? Short money over long money? Never a good plan.

    • Sorry, but it took you this long to stop buying this series? Issue #11…really? I quit after issue 6, I think it was. And only because I had pre-ordered and pre-paid up ’til then. Actually, I have not read past #4. Loeb is a fucking moron, and the series is total crap. I agree with the statement “anyone who is still in favor of this series thinking that the story is “fun” or “tongue in cheek” is just simply retarded” Brilliant

      • Steve: I was hoping beyond hope that this crappy-assed series would get better, but it only got worse. The issue featuring the women of marvel trying to take down Red Hulk should have been my tipping point. Its insulting to readers that that Marvel allows this drivel to be sold and published.

        I wish there was a way to illegally download, if you will, physical copies of this series. When does it end btw?

  13. Steve, I’m buying this series out of loyalty only. I haven’t missed a Hulk comic since the early 90’s – I even made it through the dreaded Bruce Jones run – I can make it through this! But if you look at the past reviews I am right there with you thinking this has been crap from the beginning!

  14. for some strange reason Rulk Reminds me of Mario…

  15. Mercenary Nonsense

    Well Hulk man I think Hulk should shove Red hHlk down a green sewer pipe and his comics where they belong!

  16. @Janus: Ah, ok. I was like that at first, and almost continued my subscription. I think you are what I was: you were looking at a train wreck and couldn’t take your eyes away from it 🙂 BTW, I have found some torrents of comic books. Haven’t looked for the Hulk specifically, but it might be there.

    @Ratchet: Yeah, I am still hoping there’s something coming here. If so, will re-up my subscription, but until then…bleh.

  17. @ Steve:

    So when is the series supposed to end? It may just become collectible as the DUMBEST series ever written!!

    • @Janus:

      That would be funny as hell! Hardcover/Trade paperback it with that title “Dumbest Comic Series ever”. I would buy it just for that…get Loeb to sign it 🙂 lol

    • I would love Loeb to sign mine as “Sorry about this Ryan – I am just truly sorry far wasting your time”

  18. Ive loved the hulk since i was about 6 years old, Im now 20. and throughout my study of various documents and articles ive come to realize that this manga has been going down hill for years. Now im not an idiot and I remember reading a lot of wicked things about the hulk for example;
    -The madder he gets the stronger he gets(if provoked his strength and durability grows increasingly)
    -There is no way to kill the hulk
    I have also read that the hulk was disitegrated completely from a nuclear missle, which would not happen at all.
    I have actually studied nuclear misslies and have learned they would only make the hulk stonger. My reasons being!…
    A nuclear missile does 2 things, it microwaves you, following with a concusive blast which reaches speed exceeding 500MPH. when a nuke is dropped theres a short period befor the initial blast which douses all living things with much radiation, after being radiated, your body takes damage equal to the radiation absorbed, after this short 3-5 second period the initial blast follows

    Hulk is capable of absorbing all types of radiation.
    Nuclear missiles contain radiation
    The initial blast of the device isnt even enough to harm the hulk at a calm state

    I think everything speaks for itself, but just think about it, does everyone honestly think the writers and creators ponder as much as we do. hell no, or there would never be a new issue read. I think what people like most is just the idea of there favorite characters, thats why its its important for writers to keep in mind what makes this character right.
    now as much as i dissagree with what they have done the the hulk throughout his journey, but theres no doubt in my mind that the hulk is still the most powerful unsoppable impervious being i always thought he was.
    to me hulk can take anyone and everything and the same time, the hulk will live forever, never age, and be the only being to witness the apocalypse.

  19. MARIO WITH STARPOWER PWNS HULK!!!
    there we go! that outta spark the conversations again. lol

Leave a Reply

