Green Scar vs. Silver Savage Diorama (2009)

Sideshow's Green Scar vs Silver Savage Dio

Sideshow's Green Scar vs Silver Savage Dio

The Surfer is gonna get pummeled!
The Surfer is gonna get pummeled!
I'd be hiding too Surfer - you haven't got a chance here!

I'd be hiding too Surfer - you haven't got a chance here!

Alright folks – here it is!  The latest Hulk Sideshow diorama  (I’ll post more pictures tomorrow) now the last dio, I’ll be honest, I thought that the Hulk was a little out of scale.  He was huge compared to Spiderman and while it was massive, it was my least favorite high end collectible.  This dio is a totally different story!  Inspired from the artwork to the cover of The Incredible Hulk #95 it showcases the match up between Hulk vs. Silver Surfer on the planet Sakaar.  Here’s the issue right here:

Incredible Hulk #95

Incredible Hulk #95

This dio is freakin sweet!

This dio is freakin sweet!

The nice thing about this dio is that it comes in two pieces.  This little feature makes it easier to display, not only that but this is the exclusive with a change -o- hand and a warrior helmet.  I had him with just the closed fist like the cover – but the ax was just too cool not to have him holding it!  I also chose to display without the helmet, mainly because the cover doesn’t have him wearing it – but it’s so beautifully sculpted I had to make it part of the display.  I laid it at the Hulk’s feet.

Hulk's foot and helmet...

Hulk's foot and helmet...

The exclusive has a run of 900 – mine is #189.  I’m not really sure why the Surfer is wearing a loin cloth – it’s not like he has junk that will be exposed if he wasn’t wearing it.  He’s been naked for YEARS in the comics – why is he being modest now?  People have asked if it’s hard to display each character with the poses the way they are – Surfer hiding behind the surf board – but that’s why it was so crucial that they make each piece separate.

Surfer... Scared out of his mind!

Surfer... Scared out of his mind!

Surfer's butt cheek

Surfer's butt cheek

Shield detail is awesome

Shield detail is awesome

 I will post a few more pictures of the options tomorrow – but here’s one more:

The diorama... wait...

The diorama... wait...

9 responses to “Green Scar vs. Silver Savage Diorama (2009)

  1. Okay, actually laughed out loud at the last pic!
    Looks SOOO good, Ratch! I can’t wait to get mine!

  2. Mercenary Nonsense

    i can’t think of anything to comment cause my mind right now is stunned from the awesome of this diorama

  3. The best and most incredible Hulk blog, EVER. After seeing your blog this morning, I don’t know if I will ever write another superhero blog again! You do great work, and your pics are stellar!

  4. Cool as all hell!!!! Love it!!!!!

  5. King Hulk Marco

    What can I say but, wow!!!!!!!!!!

    Tis a thing of beauty!

  6. Hi Ratchet.

    I must say you did a great job photographing this piece. I love the write up and pic @ the end. Your blog just solidified my order for this piece. I got a 2nd chance opportunity from Sideshow and was on the fence about it. After seeing this I’m keeping my order. I had no idea it was a 2 piece dio.

    Great work. Thanks JD

Leave a Reply

