The Incredible Hulks #626 (2011) – The Review

The Incredible Hulks #626

I am starting off a new way of reviewing things – trying out a new format and all – hope you all enjoy – let me know what you think.  Also, just trying to catch up on things now… sorry posts have been so slow.

THE POSITIVE: Let’s begin with the fantastic art as Grummett takes over!  The art is a huge part of the enjoyment of these funny books for me, I mean, everyone has their own tastes as to what is and what is not good art but like I’ve stated in the past I love most of Purves run while many a Hulk fan try to forget about that time period.  Also, I am jazzed that Cho is back with Banner!  Although – have they addressed why Cho was wrong in assessing Talbot not being an LMD?  If I were Banner I would totally be questioning Cho’s claim at being one of the smartest after that huge blunder.  Still having Cho have your back should put you at ease – but with a partner as unpredictable as the Hulk… good luck with any plan going according to… well, plan.  Lastly, I hate to say it but Betty has never been more enjoyable to read.  She has gone through a lot of transformations in the era of Hulk comics – but never has she been more difficult and a source of frustration for the Hulk.  It breathes new life into the character that we didn’t see happen with Ross as the Red Hulk (Of course, that could have to do more with the writer).

Tyrannus... sleeps with that thing under his pillow

THE NEGATIVE: Why is this book still titled in the plural form – did the Hulk not shed most of his team in the last issue?  Are they still counting Betty and Rick?  Whatever – I am just happy they are focusing more on the Hulk now – and even bringing back some of Hulk’s original foes such as Tyrannus.  Although, Tyrannus is and always has been one of the least interesting original villains of all time.  I can’t say I was completely jazzed when I saw it was him.  And the whole issue is using the Hulk’s strength and rage against him.  This is a plot point that has been around since the inception of the Hulk and when used right can really have an impact on the story.  Here though… I saw the twist coming from a mile away.  Betty’s in the vault?  Really?  Come on – Cho didn’t see that coming either?  Maybe he was a bit too worried about the Hulk causing damage – which is exactly why he is a flawed sidekick.  A smarter person would have figured a way to work the Hulk into a situation rather than trying to make Bruce stay calm and repress the beast within.  Especially when Bruce was going after Betty.  If there has been a Hulk triggering switch in the past – it’s Betty.  Always has been, always will be.

Hulk doesnt need no stinkin combination!

AND THE RELEVANT:  Now this is the part of the review where I can discuss what relevance the storyline may have on the Hulk continuity.  Such as – if I had reviewed the Hulk issues when the Red Hulk first showed up I would still say the character’s origin was crap – but I would also admit that the relevance would be great because I think the character was here to stay… good or bad.  This issue is hard to say if will have lasting power as it’s just the first issue of a two-parter but they are off to a good start with Betty turning to the dark side and even using the Hulk to do the dirty work.  Let’s see how the next issue shapes up.

Tyrannus and Betty... who is now going for the Elvira look

CONCLUSION: Absolutely buy this issue and read the hell out of it.

14 responses to “The Incredible Hulks #626 (2011) – The Review

  1. Awesome review Ratchet. Im really digging the new review system, gets right to the point with out revealing too much of the story. Im so glad the Hulk is going back to being a loner by the way. Incredible Hulks , after Choas War, was starting to make me drop the book but awesomeness of this issue changed my mind. And we get to see Tyrannus again (FANBOY SQUEE!!!).

  2. Transformers03

    To be honest, I don’t really like this new review system. But if this is the way you want to review comics, then it’s okay. I prefer if you at least still put a grade for the comic, but that’s just me.

  3. President of JM

    dont ever do a review like that again that was a disgrace to the old style of reviewing. stick to the old way but keep bringing the new stuff

  4. StrongestOneThereIs

    Soooo miss the grade system too… but thanks for the review regardless!

  5. Thanks for the feedback – I guess this was a miss – no worries, though – I was trying to spice things up a bit. Grading system works better for you guys then…

  6. hey Rachet,

    I like the new review system. I never really likes the old version too much – I read the story myself, so dont really need or want a synopsis, just more interested in your thoughts really.
    Keep up the good work.

    Truka

  7. Hey there brother- I like the new system, but at the same time, I also enjoyed your summaries when you were doing the old ones. That said, I know that sometimes you gotta change things up for yourself!

  8. Zeno what’s up! email me some time… I had a question for you.

  9. godzillakungfu

    Nice review Great website. New to the site and a looooong time Hulk fan. Just wanted to point out it is in four parts.
    Sorry.

  10. Forgot to say before that I am there with you on the Purves art Rachet, some of my favourite Hulk comics.

Leave a Reply

