2011 Boston Comic Con (Part 3)

Batman - your cowl is crooked

Now we’re getting down to the wire here – the jam piece is almost done and the stakes are getting higher!  Last post I told you I went to go see Cho – Frank Cho.  A long shot I know – but I just had to try.  Well, I got to his table and saw he had a small line forming as he just showed up (it was 12:45 by the way).  I joined the line and starting building up the confidence to ask for him to contribute to the jam piece.  The guy at the front of the line pulled out some Liberty Meadows books.  He asked if Cho would consider doing a small ske-

That’s as far as he got because Cho interrupted with “I am not drawing today.”  Not even “I’m not sketching” – no, it was a flat out “I am not drawing today.”  So that was that.  I slunk out of line and turned to see Ryan Ottley right behind me.  Ottley – for anyone who isn’t aware – is the very talented artist who pencils Invincible.  I walked up and introduced myself.  We talked a bit and I asked about the jam piece.  He was interested!  He, like Vines needed some time to get settled, as he just arrived as well, and told me to come back in a few hours.  No problem!  I needed to kill time – and that’s when the loudspeaker announced that the Sale panel was about to start.  Perfect!

Sale Panel

Let me just say – I have never been to a panel before and I wouldn’t have gone to one here either, but the combination of it being Sale and the fact that I was seeking out something to do – I checked it out.  Man, am I glad I did!  Sale, who turned 55 on Sunday (they brought out a cake toward the end – it was pretty great) was suffering from a bit from a loss of voice.  He didn’t let it stop him though as he answered all the questions asked.  He informed the crowd that, yes, Captain America: White is coming out.  That’s all he could say about that.  He also said he’d like to stray away from doing Superheroes for a while and do more of a visually prominent noir story.  It was a fantastic hour and I am really glad I went.  I left the panel and swung by the Fletcher/Uminga table.  Uminga had my Planet Hulk piece ready.  I was floored when he handed it to me:

Uminga Planet Hulk

After getting that I went back to Ottley.  He was more than ready to throw something into the mix.  I decided to bring up the Burning Man incident to which he laughed about.  “Writers do it all the time – it’s a cathartic thing – but none of them were dumb enough to post it on the web.”  Anyways, we laughed about it and he presented me with this:

Ottley Hulk

The jam piece was coming together nicely – now I was worried about getting a Hulk sketch on the page that I didn’t like.  I was so worried, in fact, that I almost decided to call it quits right there – but then I remembered that Dexter Vines agreed to add something on as well – and I really like that guy – so off to his table I went.  Alright, come on back tomorrow to hear about what happened.  Everything will be revealed tomorrow – including the finished jam piece – let me know what you think so far!

5 Hulks down... 5 HULKS DOWN!

5 responses to “2011 Boston Comic Con (Part 3)

  1. I love Khoi Pham’s sketch – by far the best on your jam piece. I wouldn’t be letting go of that Uminga Planet Hulk sketch either, looks amazing in color ! Excellent thread Ratchet !

  2. Looks like Batman took one too many blows to the head and now he’s “Special” Man.

  3. Uminga hulk looks gorillaz-esque! Great ottley hulk and I’m really disappointed that Cho couldn’t contribute.

Leave a Reply

