2011 Boston Comic Con (The Final Post!)

Dexter Vines adds to the Hulk jam!

So here we are – I was off to Dexter Vines table looking to see if he was able to add to the jam piece.  I have been having such a blast at the con this year talking to the artists that I don’t think this day could let me down.  Vines was drawing on a cover – Old Man Logan – and he was finishing up.  I began to flip through the pages he had with him and asked him if when blacking out space (the Hulk pages are heavy in shadows) did he just color in with a marker.  He smiled and said “No, man – I use a Q-Tip.  A Q-Tip can hold a whole lot of ink.”  The artists on either side of him perked up.  “Did you just say you used a Q-Tip?” 

He went on to explain that he has been figuring out all sorts of little tricks to make the inking process faster.  That’s why he is one of the fastest (and best, IMO) in the business.  I turned to another page and asked how he did the stars.  He went on to tell me that he used to block off the images and then do the toothbrush trick – so he came up with a new one.  Before he inked anything he would splatter a somewhat “liquid rubber” onto the page – then he would ink the page and take a Q-Tip to the sky.  Once it was dry he rubbed his fingers over the black – and everywhere the liquid rubber was would just peel right off.  Vines was a fascinating, talented artist – my only regret is not having more time to just chat with him.

Wow - Page almost full!

He added his piece to the page and I went to see Norman Lee.  I asked Norman if he would add to it as well – he asked what charity it was for… this was quite the surprise as no one asked me this before – not to mention – it was not for a charity!  I let him know it was just for a huge fan, myself, and he seemed a little less enthusiastic about adding to it – but he said give him a little while and he will do his thing.

So I took off again, without my jam piece this time, just wandering the con.  I saw an artist, Randy “Rantz” Kintz – but whose stlye I was fantastic and I asked about getting something.  I did not have much funds left – but he was running a “bust” special – so I asked for the Hulk – and this is what he delivered:

Rantz Hulk bust

So yeah – really riding high now!  With the con day coming closer to an end I went back to Lee’s table and he was deep in conversation with another patron.  He spied me walking up and grabbed the pad, handed it back to me and said “I didn’t have time to ink it up, I hope that’s alright.”  I graciously took the jam piece back and – while I would have preferred a more uniform look with inks – I could not complain about Lee’s addition:

Norman Lee Hulk

So, with about 30 minutes left of the whole con I went back to Uminga/Fletcher’s table.  Fletcher was doing the other Hulk commission I asked for, my last one – and while he was still working on it I decided to strike up a conversation with Uminga.  I saw the prints he brought and as I flipped through there was one print I could not help but get – for my daughter – it was of the Hulk of course – and it’s perfect for her room:

Uminga Hulk Print

After I got that I showed Uminga the jam piece.  Since there wasn’t much room left on the page I doubted anyone could fit anything on the remaining open space – but Uminga was up to the challenge and said “I’ll throw something on there”  Sure enough, a few minutes later he handed the pad back and the jam piece was complete:

YES! Uminga Hulk is the last to be on the jam!

I can’t thank each artist enough for generously adding what they did to it – I was ecstatic to watch this page from the very first to the last!

The full Hulk Jam Piece! Yes - it's in the process of being framed!

6 responses to “2011 Boston Comic Con (The Final Post!)

  1. Congrats man! The piece looks stellar. That is an awesome idea. It’s cooler than 1 commision because you had more involvement. You actually chose people and put it together. Completely and uniquely your own. I also wanted to say that enjoyed this train of posts. You laid it out really well. It flowed and kept me interested. Well done Ratch.
    T

  2. Dude that’s awesome. That bust is especially cool.

  3. Loved reading your experience of the comic con.

    Quite interesting hearing some artist choose not to draw i always find this so interesting, we buy the comics 1st 2nd and sometimes third issue of the same comic and then when you queue for hours the chap turns round “sorry not sketching” bummer

    The Uminga Hulk Print is superb loved the art and totally agree with T Bear great flow to your post’s of the comic con had me waiting everyday for the new post.

  4. StrongestOneThereIs

    I bet in a jam peace some artists feel the need to 1 up each other in terms of the effort they put forth. It serves the piece well. Great job and great posts!

  5. StrongestOneThereIs

    P.S… I’d would almost be tempted to ink the rest myself

  6. Very cool idea. I wish I could find as much great Hulk gear as you do, though you probably spend a fortune on it. This collage is great though.

Leave a Reply

