Not Even a Trade’s Worth…

Portacio - coming to a title near YOU!

It has been a wild ride!  But not really – Marvel announced that the newly announced Silvertri/Aaron super group on the Hulk will be no longer as Silvestri hands over the title to Portacio.  Really, Mark?  you couldn’t even last a mere 6 issues at least?  Oh well – this can only be good news as NOT ONE other site thought that Silvestri’s work was anything to be excited about.

10 responses to “Not Even a Trade’s Worth…

  1. Yuck. That’s me off this series then. Portacio has to be one of the worst artists in comics. His recent X-Men art was so dire that I dropped that series and had been reading it for ages.

    • Really? I am surprised – as most people I have heard thinks this is good news – for me Portacio is hit and miss. And my run in with him at the Boston Comic Con didn’t really help…

  2. While I’m not a big portacio fan myself, Silvestri definately isn’t doing it for me. I actually like the savage look (for a little while anyway) he came up with, but the art itself just doesn’t fit the book. We’ll see….

  3. I met (and picked up a commission) from Portacio at the NY Comiccon a couple of weeks ago and he told me that he was going to be working on the Hulk. At that moment, I thought he just meant the cover to #1, but later thought about it and realized he meant taking over the series. I remember him in the Hero’s Reborn run and it was hit or miss then too, but since then, I’ve grown to like his work. I’m looking forward to it!

  4. Even though i’m not a huge fan of Silvestri’s art, i would’ve like for him to atleast do 6 issues. Not sure what to make of Portacio, it seems like more of a “fun” style but who knows. I don’t know how to describe it but his face looks like kind’ve a compact Liefeld version.

    Bring back Purves! 🙂

  5. This is what I think of when I think of Portacio… http://media.comicvine.com/uploads/0/3133/246778-97549-whilce-portacio.jpg

    It’s like Silvestri’s style… only drunk.

  6. I like them both. Just want ANYONE to draw the death of all that is Red. Purves sucks. I never want to see him draw again.

  7. Hmm, it is about 20 years too late for me to be excited about Portacio. He was top of my Hulk artist wish list at one time, but the comics world has moved along a lot since then and his place on that list would be a few notches above Liefield nowadays (and no, thats not very high). However, there is still interest for me here – a bit like seeing what an old girlfriend looks like now, but it will probably be like when your team signs a ex-superstar player who is past his best – initially it will be exciting and there will be flashes of past brilliance but in the end it will be a bit of a let down. I do hope Im wrong and that it turns out to be the classic run that I dreamed of in my 90’s big-gun-pony-tail-shoulder-pad comic heyday. Anyway lets give him a chance and see what he can do.
    Purves – loved his run for some reason and still enjoy re-reading them. Not sure if Id want to see him back full time, but would love to see a guest slot.

  8. I’m a little late here, but I loved Silvestri’s style. Issues #1-3 were among my favourite comics in terms of art, and Portacio’s not even come close in my eyes, sadly.

Leave a Reply

