Defenders #1 (2011) – The Review

The Defenders #1

Let’s break it down, shall we?  I liked how I broke the last review up, so let’s get started.

Story:  I was already on the defensive with this comic – expecting to hate it because they have replaced the Hulk with none other than… Red She Hulk.  Right there is a reason to hate this comic!  Except, it’s not.  Not only does Fraction explain the absense of Hulk from this adventure (one that HE is the reason for – but I will get into that later) but it’s the Hulk who actually offers his ex-wife as a suitable replacement.  I also enjoyed how Fraction “got the gang back together”.  When did Strange become such a poon hound, by the way?  As for the ultimate evil – why the Defenders are together – well, let’s say we’re off to a great start – we’ve all known that Hulk has had a dark side for a LONG time now – and it’s become a physical force.  I don’t think much more needs to be said to pique your interest!  The Defenders against an evil, black Hulk!

Of course, there is also some negatives.  For example, what the hell happened to Surfer?  Why is he a Zen master able to recreate himself from thin air?  He’s everywhere?  He’s the falling snow?  What?!?!?  That’s not so much a negative as it is more a “I am sort of lost in what’s happened in the MU” but if they are keeping with continuity with the Surfer – why is the Hulk not being paid the same respect?  The Hulk is dealing with some real issues over in his book – ones that aren’t even addressed here.  Let’s move on…

Art: Terry Dodson does an exceptional job here – Strange and Co. have never looked better!  Of course, I am not the biggest fan of his Hulk – but then again, like I told you, the Hulk is not really a big part of the first issue.  I am waiting to see more of the Black Hulk.  Here’s to hoping they defeat him and he just fades away though – instead of becoming a new member… shudder at the thought!

Variants: I didn’t bother picking up the 1:50 Strange variant – it seemed cool enough but I am getting really picky with which variants I decide to pick up now.  Seeing as this isn’t an actual Hulk book I was not too worried about picking up every variant.  The 1:25 Neal Adams variant has a large image of the Hulk front and center though – so I was all over that!

Overall:  This is a classic Defenders story through and through – pick this up and feel like you’re reading some classic Marvel.  Grade: A

Adams Variant - Love this one!

10 responses to “Defenders #1 (2011) – The Review

  1. Have you read Fear Itself: Hulk vs Dracula, I haven’t but I was just wondering if you did. You never reviewed those issues while they were out, and I think this first arc of the Defenders is about what happen in Hulk vs Dracula.

    I could be wrong, but that’s what I thought. Also, I will have to skip this title. Blame DC’s new 52. I even had to skip the new Incredible Hulk, have you read any of the DC’s new 52 issues?

  2. Yes indeed! I loved the Adams cover and snapped one up this morning, and the story is great and has a feel of old Bronze age Marvel about it. Please, please let this be a Hulk-related run that is actually decent (I’ve been waiting since Planet Hulk for a real good ‘un)!

  3. Well I love the fact that they came out with a Defenders comic (finally). The art is good but I don’t like the way Dodson draws the Hulk (his lower half looks to small n skinny). Fractions story is OK, but some of the heros are written out of character. I just hope that they don’t cancel this series cuz Thunderbolts have an on going series like forever and they are bad guys for pete’s sake. I give the issue a solid B. Um Ratch how come you did’nt review Hulk vs Drac or Fear itself?

    • To tell you the truth 465 – I was so busy I didn’t really read them all – how would you like to do a review of them that I would post here?

  4. I’ve gotta admit, the Adams variant looks terrible. The head’s proportion with the rest of the body is completely wrong.

  5. I have to take into account your a family man and will always be understanding when it comes to you being “busy”. As for me doing a review ….only if I had my own site, beside I always enjoy your reviews good or bad of any comic.

  6. VenomousHatred1001

    The “Black Hulk” is actually Nul, an the spirit that dwelled inside the hammer that possessed Hulk back in Fear Itself. Long story short, Hulk broke the hammer and the spirit was set free as a result. It happened in Fear Itself: Hulk vs Dracula.
    Also I agree it was a good first issue. Really piques your interest. Though I still can’t get over the fact that She-Hulk’s in it *Ugh*

  7. I’m really hoping the Hulk replaces Betty in the second arc or something. I’m getting sick of him getting the raw end. First the Red hulk is in the Avengers, the hulk’s new title sucks and now this.
    Also where is the actual she-hulk? Is red ink cheaper than Green? Have marvel implemented a company wide cost cutting measure?

    Although… this was actually a pretty cool book. More than enough to grab ish #2.

  8. Fraction is almost, by a little, as bad a writer as Loeb. Just nothing but a bunch of slick, glossed over, BS. Frank Miller, Chris Claremont…where are they?

Leave a Reply

