Incredible Hulk #5 (2012) – The Review

Incredible Hulk #5

I’m back!  Wait till you see what I got for the Hulk room!  But I have a ton of stuff to post this week – with Avengers toys hitting the shops – reviews to catch up on and a few new ebay purchases!  It is only February and I think I have already made a spot on my WORST of 2012 list for this particular issue.  Aaron’s run thus far has been pretty bad – but this is where the story gets just downright silly.

The Positive: … The cover is sort of cool…

The Negative: Seriously – I couldn’t find one good thing about this book – the art is incredibly laughable – this can’t be doing Portacio any real favors!  And the revelations in the story is eye rolling hilarious!  I mean, let’s, just for a second, believe that the Hulk would go to Doom after all these years – let’s just say he was desperate enough and that this part of the story is not as ludicrous as it seems.  Let’s say Doom CAN separate Banner and Hulk… which in itself, after all we’ve learned about the character, is pretty impossible (I don’t believe he’s actually separated them – this is something Gary Miller made mention of before – he could be totally on spot)

But now you want to tell me that Doom is SO smart – SO amazing – that he can actually SEE the different parts of the brain?  Take it from me kids – the brain, it’s not labeled – so to think that there is two sides of a brain – the Banner and the Hulk side – is just stupid.  The worst part?  Doom spends a few panels actually looking at the brain and saying he create whatever combination he’d like – just by looking at his brain.

I really am amazed – I never thought I would see a worse written Hulk story than the drivel that Loeb handed us – but boy was I wrong!  I still say Loeb is worse – but Aaron has now made it into my Worst Hulk Writers list – a list that is pretty exclusive – so he may just be proud!  As far as the art is concerned, this is the worst the Hulk the comic has looked in a long time.  This is a low, low time for the Hulk.  Grade: F

24 responses to “Incredible Hulk #5 (2012) – The Review

  1. Not to question your Loeb hatred bro, but based on your grades of Loeb’s comics ( mostly C’s and D’s, a couple B’s and an A- for his awesome Doc Samson issue) compared to your grades of Aaron’s issues (whole lotta F’s), Aaron should be #1 on your sh*t list! ;)

    I figured it was going to be Dr. Doom. Just surprised Hulk would strike a deal with the likes of him…
    -AJ

    • Well, Aaron seems to at least try to add continuity into his horrible stories – Loeb is too ego driven to even care – which makes him worse in my opinion.

  2. After collecting/reading the Incredible HULK for over 30 years-gotta say that this storyline(and art) is the absolute WORST-I not even look forward for the next issue-

  3. haha all the reviews from general comic fans are PRAISING this – but most *HULK* fans are like “WTF is this sh!t?! GTFO.”

  4. What was with Doom’s white wardrobe? And didn’t Banner ‘dumb’ down Doom when the Cosmic Hulk was present? Let’s see…I just made a really smart guy become average….maybe I should ask him to do some brain surgery on me…yeah! That’s the ticket! Hopefully, this story line will end up being one of Nightmare’s doings…

    You forgot to mention the gamma green monkey poop fight!

    • Doom got his brains back in FF # 2 and the white robe is his FF attire.

    • It is creepy, yet it still holds my interest. I can accept the terms of the separation based on Doom’s magic. From this story line I am more or a Banner fan than Hulk. – Logan

  5. I uh… Well it’s… Maybe he’ll…… Yeah, I got nothin, this sux. I won’t skip an issue, but can’t wait for this to be over and done. NEXT!

  6. You guys are crazy… Lolll… This run is awesome !!! Suspension of disbelief, this is a comic book after all!!! Who says Doom didnt use any combination of science and Magic to separate the Banner part of the Brain.

    • Aaron – aaron says he didn’t. Because he didn’t say he did. Yes, it’s comic books – but bad writing is still bad writing… and it seems you’re in the minority here Shai…

      • The book is still selling at 40 000+ though, doing 2X much better than what Pak was doing when he left the book…Anyway i’m a big fan of what Aaron is doing with the character ATM.

      • Pak’s second run, 5 issues in, was selling about the same as Aaron’s – so talk to me when he hits issue #35 – if he makes it that far.

        And 40,000 by issue #5 means he has lost 60% of sales thus far – which says a whole lot. It means a lot of people are jumping ship – and that’s BEFORE the storyline is even completed.

    • Exactly, Magic and Science is what Doom is all about! I like it, and only hope that Banner Kicks Both or their Asses! From this, Doom, in my book, has become a major Banner enemy. I would love to see Banner kick all ass.

  7. This reminds me of the Bruce Jones era when all the people were loving his work but the fans completely hated it.

    I could give Aaron some latitude but when he had Doom “cut out” the part of the brain that was only Bruce Banner, he really jumped he shark at that point. When you are talking about MPD, there are not unique parts of the brain for each personality. sheesh.

  8. Aaah, I’ve been reading Hulk since 1977 and this isn’t so bad – it quite reminds of some of the Silver Age Fantastic Four stories – a little silly, yes, but all good fun. I don’t think it takes itself too seriously. At the very least we know what’s going on – Loeb’s stories were often incomprehensible as well as indescribablyawful. The monkey fight is somewhat demeaning, true, but I still think this is better than Red Hulk.

  9. The Monkey Poop scene pretty much sums up this storyline thus far…

  10. Oh and btw the end of Fear Itself it seemed like Hulk got fed up with Banner and somehow willed the separation implying that somehow magic was involved. Not this splicing different sections of the brain and somehow cloning a separate entity like Doom did. The whole thing just sucks. Oh how come Banner has to create hulk animals in hopes of replicating the scenario that turned him into the Hulk. We have plenty of characters that are able to change back and forth from their Hulklike state. Why not just kidnap one of them? Aaron just doen’t have any idea how to treat a character like this, Just look at his run on Ghost Rider which received high praise at first and than was canceled. Maybe by issue 10 we will get to see Giant Hulk babies or something.

    • Tell me about it – this has to be the worst re-boot ever. I mean, I knew we were starting with a mediocre Hulk artist – I am sorry but Silvestri can NOT draw the Hulk well at all – and it’s only gotten worse. The saving grace was supposed to be Aaron – a writer who could give us an all new kind of Hulk… but the more I read the more I wonder how the guy was ever able to get a job writing comics?

    • OK I can agree in the fact that he already re-created the Hulk with Skaar.

  11. Skaar is essentially a mutant. I was thinking more along the lines Gray or She-Hulk.

  12. Another negatvie review for the pile!
    These are indeed dark, dark times for Ol’ Jade Jaws.
    Everything in this issue sucked. The characterisations, the monkey, the dialogue, “Mr Gor”, the art, all of it. It is truly embarrassing at this point how much this book sucks. It reminds me a lot of Bruce Jones, and if goes on anywhere near as long, I don’t know what I will do. I haven’t missed an issue in 20 years, but I have no desire to buy #6 unless it’s revealed to all have been a dream.

  13. I completely disagree with you Rachet… the cover was terrible – Hulk looks completely different than he does inside – no beard etc, and what the heck is that tank doing there! (I do agree about everything else though :))
    I dont agree with the Bruce Jones run comparison some are making – whilst I wasnt a big fan of that arc, this is way, way worse. Can someone with some influence please call Peter David and beg him to come back. If Hulk wasnt my favourite character I would have dumped this book long ago. I was really hoping this reboot would bring the book back to its best. Its actually got even worse. I think the reason the whole separation seems so poorly done is that its wasnt an organic story development, but an idea from the marketing department ie to make more money Marvel wanted a No1 relauch, therefore they needed a story to justify a relaunch.

  14. Jast bad. A “low-light” for sure. Aaon is trying to reach rock bottom here. …

    He (Aaron) amost there. Where is Peter David when you need him?!

Leave a Reply

