Boston Comic Con – 2012! Part 4

If you have a chance to see McG - do it - all around nice guy who likes to laugh

Alright – last post about the BCC and then I will get back on track with reviewing the latest issues and posting Hulky goodness.  The final post here will feature a sort of “Best of Times, Worst of Times” theme.  Every year I try to visit artists who are not as well known – artists who may be up and coming real talents.  I am certain the name Jeff Wamester will soon be known very well!  Anyways, I will tell you up front, and I’m sure you can tell by the title pic, McGuiness finally did get to his table – and not only was he a pleasure to talk to and a jovial, down to Earth kind of guy, he was also sketching!  Quick sketches – and I was lucky enough to not have to wait in the long, long line to get this:

Wow! Love it!

Classic!  So, let’s move onto a mis-step in the journey of BCC.  I saw an artist – and I won’t bother with the name – but I saw a Captain America piece he was working on and thought it was a unique approach.  A little funky but cool looking – so I asked about a Planet Hulk.  Now, not only did the artist make a grave mistake by confusing a WWH with a Planet Hulk (note the tiara and “loin cloth”) but he also gave me something that looks like it took about 2 minutes.  What is the squiggle on his arm?  Anyways – here it is:

Ummm... WTF?

So – being a little bothered I didn’t want to leave the BCC on a down note.  I was trying to find an artist who would re-create a couple of famous Spiderman covers – but make them Hulk themed – and one of the artists agreed but asked if it would be okay for him to take it home and mail it to me.  I can’t wait to see the art completed – but I will keep it a secret on which cover it’s being based on.  There is another cover I wanted though – it’s the VERY FAMOUS McFarlane Spidey cover ( this one) but I wanted it to be reversed – I wanted the Hulk to be punching Spidey.  This is the most fun piece I took home this year:

Awww - YEAH!

The artist’s name that did this Rich Woodall and he knocked it out of the park!  I can’t even tell you how amazed I was when I came back to his table and he presented me with this!  Let me know what you guys think – I had a blast this year and I can’t wait for next year!

One response to “Boston Comic Con – 2012! Part 4

  1. If you wanna sell that little WWH art.. LMK ill take it.I like it.

Leave a Reply

