Gentle Giant Hulk Bust (2012)

Gentle Giant Hulk Bust

Here’s a funny story – there is a Keown Hulk drawing out there that I am not a fan of… it’s so terrible looking that I refuse to post it here – so here is a link instead.  I know I may have people out there who thinks that the drawing is awesome – but you are wrong.  Sorry – but this is my site and I make the rules 🙂

Open hand – ready to bitch slap!

For me – the Hulk really depends on the face – and I think Keown really botched up the face on that drawing!  BUT – GG has created a 3-D version of this art which I actually love!  They toned the face down a bit, which really helps, and they sculpted the hell out of the torso!  I have not seen a bust that I have been this excited about since a Bowen!  The only issue I have is that the seam by the neck is a little too obvious.

Loving this sculpt more and more – every time I look at it!

Overall, getting into the collectibles market right now is a gamble.  The business itself is floundering – so, in order to make a splash right now, you have to really step up the game and bring out the big guns out of the gate – and that’s what GG has done with this NEW Marvel license.  If this Hulk is any indication, we are in for a lot of really Hulky goodness!

What? Isn’t everyone’s hands bigger than their heads?

With Sideshow pricing themselves out of the market more and more each day – and Bowen’s Hulks – as amazing as they are – starting to feel stale (the new BD Hulk will be the 5th revisit to the character he’s made) it’s good to see another company interested in creating more comic accurate pieces.  In fact, I am really looking forward to the Hulk bookend!

Over looking the Hulk

One of the best things about collecting the Hulk is that we have a great character with a simple classic look.  Green guy, purple pants!  Even though that sounds simple – too many don’t seem to get it right!  Gentle Giant’s first big release of the new Marvel license gets it right – and then some – I think a grey repaint would look fantastic!  I can’t be alone in that, right?  Let’s hope they don’t get ahead of themselves and start red-ding everything up…

The Back

Either way though – GG is off to a fantastic start and I can only tell everyone to go out and get this bust – because it is fantastic and for a very reasonable price!  Grade: A

Close Up

16 responses to “Gentle Giant Hulk Bust (2012)

  1. This is my first GG piece and I agree, it’s really quite impressive. I love the fact that it starts from the waist instead of just a chest and head stuck on a base, as many of the Bowen busts are…. Hulk needs arms dammit!

  2. I really, really LOVE this piece and am amazed at what GG is doing (have you seen the upcoming Hawkeye MB?). The size, detail, and paints are incredible. Bowen seems to be making less and less MBs and the paints of late have left MUCH to be desired (I’m talking to you Ms. Marvel) so I’m glad to see that MBs are alive and well at GG and the quality is out of this world.
    P.S. You’re not going to be happy about this Ratchet, but they are releasing a Red Hulk soon.

  3. I’m waiting til they release the life size version.

  4. I’ll pass on the bust and pick up that awesome bookend. I also decide not to pick up the new Bowen Hulk staute. The big 3 for me are GG bookend, SS Avengers/Hulk maquette and HT Hulk fig.

  5. Great bust!

    Any chance you’ll be reviewing “Hulk: Season One” by Fred Van Lente?

    It’s an awesome book!

  6. Same overall design/pose. Both fists are clenched on Red Hulk and he’s grinning. GG did the sculpt. Diamond is releasing it.

  7. Nice looking bust. I may be in the market if these drop low enough in price. It would look nice next to my full size kit version.

    http://www.jadegiant.com

  8. I could not agree with you more about the art. Never understood why that picture was loved so much by so many.

  9. I always loved the art. I’m actually quite surprised some don’t like it. Then again I always hated John Romita Jr and he’s a marvel legend. To each his own.

  10. Thanks for posting this bust Ratch I’ve only seen photo’s from the Bay and on the packaging were his arms didn’t look attached so it’s nice to see how it looks for real in your pic’s. Love it !.

Leave a Reply

