The Indestructible Hulk #1 (2012) – The Review

Indestructible Hulk #1

Thank goodness Marvel has eliminated the horrendous Aaron run after a little over a year.  There wasn’t much more I could take… and I would have been forced to drop the Hulk book for the first time in 20 years.  Now Waid has come to the rescue!  What a wonderful feeling to read a Hulk comic and actually be excited to see what’s to come!  Before I get too much into that though – I need to address something…

Baby Hulk Smash!

Early on in the issue Banner says he realizes that there is no “cure” for the Hulk.  The latest Hulk scribes seem to forget all the times that Banner has actually been cured of the Hulk!  Why?  You should be forced to know your Hulk lore before taking the reigns on the title.  I also think it’s funny that Waid writes that Banner realizes their is no cure right after Aaron wrote an entire arc about Banner collecting these ridiculous trinkets and magical items to create a cure for the Hulk.  Funny how Waid even gives the middle finger to Aaron’s run without really doing so at all!

Yu’s 1:25 cover

As far as the issue itself goes – it’s a really interesting start!  The Hulk now works for SHEILD?  Yeah, that works for me – especially if he is used as a weapon – one of the most powerful and deadliest weapons around!  Waid has certainly started things off with a real bang – he didn’t even wait (like so many others have) to give us some great action – and not some arbitrary “killing a big prehistoric whale” kind of action.  I’ve been burned before with interesting starts (screw you Aaron) but I trust Waid to deliver a exceptional new era of Hulk.

1:50 Simonson Cover

Variants this time around are plentiful (again).  We have the regular cover, a Skottie Young – who, in my opinion, should do variants for every comic ever, a 1:25 Leinel Yu cover, a 1:50 Walter Simonson cover (which is the least impressive), a 1:100 Quesada cover – and the even rarer 1:150 colorless Quesada cover.  I do know there is a Phantom Variant – as well as the blank cover.  My LCS said they did not receive those yet – but will be getting them in next week.  I will be picking mine up then.

The Boring 1:100 Quesada Cover

Grade for 1st issue: A-

The ultra rare 1:150 Colorless Quesada Cover… wish they did this for the Skottie Young cover instead…

4 responses to “The Indestructible Hulk #1 (2012) – The Review

  1. Not liking the eyes or the teeth on Q’s cover, but I’ll see if I can pick this up as a TPB in a few months. 🙂

  2. I think what Mark Waid meant that when Banner declared that their is no cure for the Hulk is that no matter how many times Banner seemed to rid himself of his alter-ego(s), they always come back in time.

    Overall, this was a great issue and a very strong start for the team of Mark Waid and Leinil Yu. Definitely a major upgrade from Jason ‘I’m a clueless jackass when it comes to Hulk/Banner’s history’ Aaron’s garbage.

    You know what I liked most? The fact that Waid portrays Banner in a similar manner that Pak did during his run. Smart, resourceful and cunning. I can only hope that Waid gives us the Green Scar incarnation, ’cause we don’t need Hulk to become nothing more than a savage monster.

    But I have a theory of sorts regarding Hulk/Banner.

    I believe that Bruce Banner has an agenda… or maybe even agendas that are in place. One thing that I loved about Mark Waid’s portrayal of Dr. Banner is the fact that it greatly reminded me of Pak’s. And at the same time, Waid’s portrayal of Banner feels like the next logical step/progression of the character… especially if Pak had stayed and Jason Aaron never touched our beloved Green Goliath.

    If you think about it, during Pak’s or even David’s run, Banner had his own agendas and plans. Could it be that Banner has some that involve SHIELD, perhaps manipulating them to a high degree? It’s something to think about, don’t you agree?

    Here’s another thought in my theory. Could it be that Banner isn’t the only one with an agenda? Could both Banner and the Hulk be working together on their own various agendas? Think about it for a second. What if Hulk is just acting savage and animalistic in nature, but in truth he’s still the very cunning and dangerous Green Scar/Green King/World War Hulk persona, but he’s hiding this from SHIELD?

    It would give SHIELD reason to underestimate the Hulk and his intellect, thus proving their downfall for whatever plans Hulk or Banner have for them. They would only see Hulk as a big, dumb, violent, dangerous nuclear arsenal, but little do they know that there’s more to the Hulk than meets the eye. And if I not mistaken, wasn’t SHIELD just as much responsible for Hulk being launched into space as the very heroes that betrayed Hulk/Banner’s trust?

    I mean, yeah, in the other comic titles (Avengers Vs. X-Men, Avengers Assemble, A+X, etc.) they’re portraying him as the Savage Hulk or similar to his live-action Avengers incarnation, but what if it’s all a ruse in Indestructible Hulk?

    It’s something to speculate upon. Mark Waid is just too excellent and understanding a writer to ignore the history of Hulk or any other character. That’s what makes me think, judging from all of his previous works, that something big is gonna happen. I can sense it, almost feel it.

    What do you think?

    • I think that if his writing can illicit this type of thought, I might have to pick this series up ASAP.

    • “I think what Mark Waid meant that when Banner declared that their is no cure for the Hulk is that no matter how many times Banner seemed to rid himself of his alter-ego(s), they always come back in time.”

      I don’t agree – If you read it the way he has Banner stating that the Hulk is like a chronic condition – but I know what you are saying. Sad thing is – it’s almost like Marvel is trying to make people forget about the history of the Hulk…

      “I believe that Bruce Banner has an agenda… or maybe even agendas that are in place. One thing that I loved about Mark Waid’s portrayal of Dr. Banner is the fact that it greatly reminded me of Pak’s. And at the same time, Waid’s portrayal of Banner feels like the next logical step/progression of the character… especially if Pak had stayed and Jason Aaron never touched our beloved Green Goliath.”

      I agree with this – Banner is too smart for his own good – I think there is way more than he is letting on – which is great.

      “Here’s another thought in my theory. Could it be that Banner isn’t the only one with an agenda? Could both Banner and the Hulk be working together on their own various agendas? Think about it for a second. What if Hulk is just acting savage and animalistic in nature, but in truth he’s still the very cunning and dangerous Green Scar/Green King/World War Hulk persona, but he’s hiding this from SHIELD?”

      That would be interesting – I don;t think this is the case – but maybe you are on to something. That would be a cool twist.

      “It would give SHIELD reason to underestimate the Hulk and his intellect, thus proving their downfall for whatever plans Hulk or Banner have for them. They would only see Hulk as a big, dumb, violent, dangerous nuclear arsenal, but little do they know that there’s more to the Hulk than meets the eye. And if I not mistaken, wasn’t SHIELD just as much responsible for Hulk being launched into space as the very heroes that betrayed Hulk/Banner’s trust?”

      Yes, you are right – Fury sent the Hulk up to tackle that “weapon” they left up there. Good catch with that one.

      “It’s something to speculate upon. Mark Waid is just too excellent and understanding a writer to ignore the history of Hulk or any other character. That’s what makes me think, judging from all of his previous works, that something big is gonna happen. I can sense it, almost feel it.”

      I hope you’re right – I am just glad we have a competent, proven writer on the Hulk. Hope he stays on for a while. I say this prematurely, mind you, but I have faith!

Leave a Reply

