“Catching Up With” Wednesday!

CCF12262012_0002

Part of my new design – the reviews will now be called “Catching Up With” – They may not always fall on Wednesdays – but it will be a few different series as I have picked up and dropped a few different titles.  For example, I dropped the Red Hulk series when it became Red She Hulk, and this has nothing to do with the writer, Parker is still one of the better writers writing funny books these days, I just have no interest in reading about that character.  Hulk has joined the Avengers – so of course that is now on my pull list – and I have even given the new Thunderbolts series a chance.  The Red Hulk has joined that team (I think it’s hilarious that Thunderbolt Ross now leads the Thunderbolts) and the line up looks interesting enough for me to check it out – even if Deadpool, who is still considered the worst character ever created, in my opinion, is on the team.  But let’s “Catch up”!

CCF12262012_0008

First Up is the second installment of the Waid’s Indestructible Hulk.  Stan Lee once said that when Marvel had heroes fight each other the writers intentionally had the battles interrupted or had the heroes dead locked so that there was no clear winner.  That way fan boys would be able to argue over who actually won the fight and be clamoring for another match up, this time with a clear winner.  Of course, in the early days, they never got their wish.  But now, with comic readers being older, and writers aiming the story lines toward an aging demographic, they give us a bit more concrete and literal winners and losers.

That being said, Indestructible Hulk #2 (W: Waid, I: Yu, $3.99) has an old timey feel of two battling heroes.  While Hulk is obviously more powerful, Iron Man has enough gadgets and tricks up his sleeve to make the fight more than a mere beat down.  This time around, the Hulk takes Stark to a desolate mountain top to work out his anger issues from everything in the past.  For which infraction we are not too sure but take your pick… (I still say Stark never accurately paid for shooting Hulk into space).  There are some great moments in this issue and some  funny ones too.  I have liked Waid’s writing in the past and this series still has me on board for more, unlike, if you can recall, Aaron’s try which lost me at issue #2.  Grade: B+

CCF12262012_0004

CCF12262012_0006

I will admit I have not read the Avengers in a while.  I haven’t really has a desire to – but with this new creative team (and the Hulk on the roster) I have now picked up the series.  So far I am pleasantly surprised with what is going on in Avengers # 1 & 2 (W: Hickman, I: Opena, $3.99).  I am even more surprised that I don’t hate the obvious “new” line-up inspired by the very successful movie.  Hulk is used as the heavyweight pawn pretty early on – a trick that has been used many times over but still works well here as he is used to take Thor out (TAKE THAT THOR FANS!)  The big baddie, Ex Nihilo, is scary enough to not know what will happen as he calmly plays with the super teams attempts to disrupt his plans of evolution.  The first two issues have dealt with Cap and Iron Man collecting a bigger team of heroes together – a emergency team – of heroes in case anything dire is facing the planet.  Lucky for them – the Earth is in trouble… AGAIN! Grade: B+

CCF12262012_0005

Now onto a team book I thought I would drop immediately but have found myself intrigued to continue buying past the initial outing.  I didn’t feel that the first issue of Thunderbolts #1 & 2 (W: Way, I: Dillon, #2.99) was a flat out fantastic, stellar, jaw dropper of an issue but I did like seeing Ross recruiting some of the seedy “heroes” for a team together.  Going back to Loeb’s horrible “Code Red” story line from his abysmal Hulk series where the Red Hulk collected some pawns to take out Domino for seeing something people should have figures out from issue 2 but due to Loeb’s horrible mis-leading writing didn’t come out until issue #24.  This list included some of the heavy’s here like Elektra, Punisher and Deadpool – I guess they couldn’t get Thundra and the Crimson Dynamo to join so they replaced them with Venom (who I am not even sure who he is anymore but I am sure I will find out) – the first issue mostly focused on Ross talking the Punisher into joining… and by talking I mean threatening.

CCF12262012_0003

The second issue takes the team on the mission of taking down a tyrant but shows more and more of the team dynamic.  Ross lets the whole crew know he is in charge – but does not want to be called sir – and that everything is volunteer, so they can leave whenever they want.  Venom is a team player displaying team colors but is volatile at best when confronted.  Deadpool (who may be the sole reason for me dropping this title) is still annoying and useless.  This title will hopefully pick up more steam soon – other wise you won’t be seeing it in the “Catching Up With” section in the future!  Grade: C

CCF12262012_0007

7 responses to ““Catching Up With” Wednesday!

  1. You’re not reading Jeff Parker’s Red She-Hulk series? Seriously?! Dude, you are really missing out! If you loved Parker’s take on Red Hulk/General Ross, you’ll most likely love what he’s done with Betty Banner/Red She-Hulk! I’m not lying, it’s a great series that’s genuinely interesting. You should pick them up, give them a read and continue from the latest issue!

    Indestructible Hulk is still going strong and I’m enjyoing it immensely, but Hickman’s Avengers has been less than spectacular for me. I mean, it’s not bad, but it’s just not leaving me in awe yet. Regardless, I’m still going to continue purchasing it in hopes that it’ll improve.

    I’m only keeping Thunderbolts on my list for the cast of characters, including those Hulk villains that we haven’t seen in a long time (Mercy, Madman, Leader, etc.). I’m still not liking Dillon’s art, and I’m hoping that we’ll be getting a better artist down the road (I think Thunderbolts #5 will have a different artist).

    Another title that you should check out is Jeff Parker’s Dark Avengers, if only because Skaar is one of the main stars of the book. You should definitely pcik up Red She-Hulk & Dark Avengers series. Trust me, Ratchet, you won’t be disappointed!

    • I will be honest – I was getting bored with the Red Hulk series too – I don’t think I even read the last story arc – and it’s nothing against the writer – just not into the characters…

    • Hi GreenScar90, I have been meaning to talk with you. Let me start by saying I agree with that Jeff Parker is doing a interesting job with the Red She Hulk. It will be interesting to see where he takes this story. The second thing is you asked Jeff Parker about the Skaar’s use of the Oldpower. About two years ago I wrote a article about the origins of the Oldpower. If you are interested you can read it. Finally I read your posts about the Hulk vs Zeus battle and have been meaning to respond. I might leave you a message with those posts.

  2. Flash Thompson as a CIA Agent. That’s who Venom is now.

  3. Red Leader will be joining the Thunderbolts next issue and we will see the return of Madman after a 20 yr absence.

  4. I know this is off topic everyone, but Peter David was reported to have had a stroke while on vacation in Florida. Everyone wish for the best, and keep him if your prayers (if you are religious or anything.)! Hope for his recovery!

Leave a Reply

