Acquisition Tuesday!

christmas '13 020

Bear with me on this one… this needs a but of explaining.  What you are feasting your beady, little eyes on (and I am only guessing that your eyes are little and beady – they may be as big as saucers… I have no idea) is an Avenger’s 8 Collectible Figure (2012 – Including Black Widow, Loki, Thor, Iron Man, Hulk, Captain America, Hawkeye and… and another Iron Man?  WTF? Retail: $14.99)pack from Target.  I am not sure if they are exclusive to that retail giant – but they might be.

christmas '13 021

But here’s the issue – TRU was also selling a pack of these – except they had 4 “prototype” figures included but at a whopping $29.99.  That’s right, double the price but only 4 unpainted figures they were trying to pass off as prototypes.  As any real collector knows – prototypes are uncompleted or unpainted figures that the companies make up as a mock up of what a final product will look like.  They have no dates or copyright information on them – they are just blank and some of the time… one of a kind.  What’s inside the TRU pack is not a prototype figure but instead – regular unpainted figures.  Luckily, ebay has come to save the day – so while I have the 8 pack from my wife from Christmas, I got the Hulk and his drab buddy for a cool buck on ebay.

Success is mine!

Success is mine!

2 responses to “Acquisition Tuesday!

  1. I got both packs as Christmas presents so I am covered and have an extra green Hulk to boot. My son loved these so I ended up giving a bunch of the Avengers back to him. I agree about the TRU packaging – pure gimmick with the prototype concept.

    http://www.jadegiant.com

  2. I heard that the above figs will come out in 2 figs packs. so I’ll wait till it does or pick one up loose at a comic con. By the way they have cheap Hulk stuff (widget, light head, bank, claw grab) at your hated Walmart , just in case you don’t know.

Leave a Reply

