Catching Up With – Saturday!

I know what you’re thinking – A Saturday post?  With reviews?  What did you do to get such a treat?  Well, the honest truth is I am spending a little extra time in the Hulk room today because – my Bowen Hulk variant came in today and I can’t stop admiring it!  I will be posting my review of this statue on Monday!  But here I need to catch up with a few titles that I have been reading.

CCF01252013_0004

First up is the conclusion of the first story arc from the Marvel Now! rebooted Avengers.  I am one of the people that had been enjoying the new book – really excited over the prospect of seeing the Hulk in a team dynamic – something that has been impossible for writers to accomplish for a while.  It seems that people just did not know how to write the Hulk as a team player.  And for good reason – he is not one.  Whedon showed the world at large that, in the right circumstances, the Hulk could be one of the greatest weapons any super team could have on their roster.

Unfortunately, instead of seeing the Hulk cut loose and take on any baddie – the villains had, early on, took control of Hulk’s brain and had him take out Thor.  My hopes were that we would see the Hulk come back and give some much deserved lashings – but instead, issue #3 sees much of the same, the Hulk is told to take out Hyperion and the two battle it out.  Hyperion bests the possessed brute and Banner re-surfaces.  Ex Nihilo, who I thought would be a titan-type baddie, an almost Thanos type threat, turned out to be a villain who could be easily swayed when faced with a false God.

It started out real interesting – but ultimately Avengers #3 (W: Hickman, I: Opena, 2013, $3.99) stalemated at the finale.  Grade:

CCF01252013_0000

In other comic news – but not so different – Avengers Assemble has been an enjoyable read for it’s first year’s worth of stories!  I haven’t really covered any of the issues as of yet – but the Thanos battle was pretty fun and brilliant!  If you didn’t read it… shame on you!  But in Avengers Assemble #11 (W: DeConnick I: Caselli, 2013, $3.99) the team is faced with trying to calm an infected Hulk – that sounds vaguely familiar – but Spider-woman is up to the task of helping our jade giant!  The real issue at hand is that Yun Guang Han is trying to create an army – and he wants the best – luring the Avengers to his lair.  Thankfully the team makes short order of him – read it if you want to know how – and off they flew back to NY where the Hulk and Stark held their very own naked parade!

The humor injected into this book is really well done – the team dynamic, almost everything I have been reading of late, is trying to mimic the tone and feel of the Avengers movie.  It reminds me of when the Batman movie came out in 89 – all of the Batman comics went dark and gritty.  It’s not necessarily a bad thing – but a little variety would be nice too.  Hulk doesn’t just have to come in to throw the bad guy around.  Grade: B+

CCF01252013_0001

Also, for anyone interested, I have taken my chances on a non-Hulk book – something I have not done in years – I started reading Savage Wolverine #1 (W+I: Cho, 2013, $3.99) and I have to tell you, I have been a Cho fan – but really didn’t follow his work to closely, the series is off to a pretty great start!  Of course, Cho made it easy on himself – he has one of the most popular characters in comic history and then he puts him into the Savage Land where Cho gets to draw Shanna and Dinosaurs.  Two things he is exceptional at!  The book is worth the read so far – Grade: B

4 responses to “Catching Up With – Saturday!

  1. I agree with you on all 3 reviews…Avengers Assemble has been a lot of fun and Savage Wolverine is off to a good start. Unless Hulk is a major part of the issue I am done with Avengers. I didn’t even recognize several of the characters in this new everybody and there mom team.

    • One of the biggest issues, I suspect, is that these writers are made to write for trade collections. Short and sweet and a letdown more times than not…

  2. With all do respect, Hyperion and Hulk fought to a standstill. It was when Thor struck the villains with a massive thunderbolt that Hulk was freed of being controlled by Abyss. That’s why he reverted back to Banner, not because Hyperion bested him. In fact, these two powerhouses seemed to be evenly matched, much like how Hulk & Thor are evenly matched.

    Avengers Assemble #11 and Savage Wolverine #1 were very entertaining and fun. And am I the only one who was touched by the bond that has formed between Spider-Woman and Savage Hulk? It was sweet, classic Savage Hulk at his best. And what’s not to like with dinosaurs, cavemen, a violent Wolverine, and a sexy Shanna?

    • That’s what’s so great about talking with others about these stories. People see things others did not catch – or they interpret things differently. I disagree about Hyperion seeming to be evenly matched with Hulk. He seemed pretty in control of the fight.

      Of course we’ve been through this kind of thing before – Hyperion is the new “old” Sentry. Maybe that’s why it doesn’t sit well with me.

Leave a Reply

