Marvel Knights: Hulk (2013) – The Review

CCF04012014_0001

Marvel Knights: Hulk
W: Joe Keatinge
I: Piotr Kowalski

I will admit to never reading Glory.  I have heard decent things about it – but have yet to pick up an issue.  That said, this is my first introduction to Keatinge as a writer – and I wish it was better.  The Hulk – for as long as I remember – has always been an American problem.  He tears up the US and then is seen in South America – even ventured north and bothered Canada for a while – but mainly stuck around the US of A.  Keatinge – according to the interview in the back of the final issue – decided to tackle the idea of “What if Hulk was set loose in other countries the way he is here?” and then wrote a lackluster 4 issue mini-series tackling that quandary.  I always enjoy the idea of seeing the Hulk starring in more than one title a month – but when they turn out like this I would rather they just save everyone some time.

CCF04012014_0003

In this mini, Bruce Banner runs around Paris unsure of who he is – who is following him – and what kind of danger he is really in.  A mysterious and deadly  organization seem to be hot on his trail, killing people without a pause who get in their way or who decide to help Banner.  Trouble surfaces in the first encounter with this mysterious group after Banner shoots one gentleman – the other shoots a green glowing ooze into his neck and “Hulks” out.  I immediately thought to myself “Oh no – not another group who is after a Hulk serum” but sure enough… and even worse I got Ang Lee flashbacks as these Hulked out henchmen grew to enormous size.  Of course, it didn’t end well for them as they blew up and left a crater in the middle of Paris…

CCF04012014_0000

As SHEILD tries to put together the pieces a dastardly woman named Nikoleta Harrow kidnaps Banner and injects him with the Hulk serum – which now makes Hulk enormous.  Even worse – Nikoleta now controls him.  She makes Hulk attack AIM who has come to claim the Hulk and the gamma serum for themselves.  This, of course, means that MODOK makes his appearance – working with Doom and another fellow named Midas they soon learn that Nikoleta has double crossed them.  What follows are a series of confusing and false flashbacks where there is no Hulk but Betty dies of gamma radiation.

CCF04012014_0004

When they return to the site of the original gamma bomb – the spot where Hulk was created – Nikoleta unleashes her final phase, which is to become a Hulk herself.  Huge Hulk and huge Nikoleta Hulk battle it out in the midst of another AIM attack.  Nikoleta blows up and kills or knocks everyone out.  Now it is revealed that Doom and Midas were playing a game of their own (one that Doom won) and SHEILD comes to take Banner away.

CCF04012014_0002

If this sounds like a terrible story – that’s because it is.  With the chance to do a Hulk mini-series you would think that maybe the writer would have some original ideas to bring to the table.  But cobbling bits and pieces from other stories to tell an awfully familiar tale about trying to harness the power of the Hulk only for it to go horribly wrong seems like a waste of time to me.  Grade: D

11 responses to “Marvel Knights: Hulk (2013) – The Review

  1. Truer words have never been spoken. Are you thinking Savage Hulk will be any better? As a long time Hulk reader and collector I’m not sure if it’s worth the 3 or 4 bucks a month if it’s the quality of this mini. I’d love some opinions.

  2. I am hopeful – but I am not so sure… It seems writers are just dumbfounded as to how to write a compelling and true Hulk story these days. I like what Waid’s been doing with Indestructible Hulk – but I don’t love it either

    • Thanks for the reply. They tend to have a vaguely interesting premise, start off ok and then lose direction. Waid’s series was ok until the crossover. I really don’t want to order Savage Hulk as a kind of protest. Ridiculous I know. But Marvel will continue to produce rubbish if it sells. It’s only my love for the Hulk that keeps me buying it, vainly hoping that they’ll accidentally do something good. Sad but true.

      • Totally agree about Waid’s run – still have not read the final issue because of the really lackluster build up to the finale… a big let down.

  3. Thanks for saving me the bother of reading it Ratchet. Glad Waid’s run is over, I was really looking forward to it, thinking we finally have a decent writer on Hulk for once, but it just bored me. And the Hulk in armour – really! I only continue to read Hulk out of habit – any other character and I would have stopped years ago. Hopefully Waid’s second run will be better, but I doubt it.

  4. The story was a big disappointment. Nothing really happened and there were a number of loose ends. Like you Ratchet,I have not read the last issue of Indestructible. Hopefully these new series will be better.

  5. Picked up the first issue and whole thing just seemed like a recycled storyline from Bruce Jones run.

    • It definitely has that vibe – but Jones had no idea how to write a Hulk story. Waid knows his Hulk history and I think this will turn out very differently.

      • I think he meant the mini series. No it was not good. It seemed promising but it just dragged four issues which did nothing interesting. Just another person wanting the Hulk’s strength.

      • Actually Jones would have streched it out for a entire year and left tons of loose ends. Ratchet you are kinder to Jones than me. You said they were not bad stories just not good Hulk stories. Bruce Jones really lost control of the mystery in his run,and there were just too many things that were either contradictory or unexplained in that story. Someone wrote he confused mystery with “dicking around”. Truer words have rarely been spoken.

  6. That reminds me,have you or anyone else here read Jon Quxiote Hulk reviews? This guy read every comic book on the cd-rom that contained every regular issue and annual from 1962 to 2006. He would make silly comments of random issues.

Leave a Reply

