Bowen Designs Savage Hulk Statue (2012)

memories1 019

I know this statue is old news by now but I’ve had it since it first came out and I never blogged about it.  I never shared it on this blog – which is weird since I did blog about the variant (which is easily one of my favorite statues ever produced) and this one has remained on my shelf unblogged about.  It’s actually a little sad if you think about it.  But here it goes: The Savage Hulk Statue from Bowen!

memories1 017

When producing statues these days you can either create the thing and then sneak teases to get people all into a tizzy – and then release the full image only to have people give you a tepid reception – OR – you can keep asking your customer base to give you input all along the creation process.  The latter is how Bowen does things.  That may be a good or bad thing – but overall, it seems to have served him well.  I know what you may be asking yourself – wait, I can maybe have an effect on the product served to me?  How?  Where?  Who? When? Was?  Well, maybe not the last one…

memories1 020

memories1 016

Actually, it’s pretty simple, sign up for Statue Marvels and you too can be part of the process!  As far as I know, that’s how we ended up with the 2 versions of these statues.  The alternate head (or variant, if you’re more comfortable with that) was one of two choices for the head of the new Hulk statue.  since the votes were pretty split and there were many suggestions to do both as FS Randy finally decided to do just that.  Originally I was going to pick up neither – and then I saw the variant and knew that my hard earned cash was going to be spent!  And then, seeing in hand pics of this behemoth and the very Buscema-esque face I told myself not to think twice.  It really captures the Hulk from the 80’s in the comics – and it’s different enough from the variant, including the color, that it dodn’t seem like a waste picking up this beautiful piece form the innovator of comic style high end collectibles.

memories1 021

Mine is #394 out of 1900.  My friend tells me that the statue market is pretty dead.  From what I’ve seen out there I can tell you that the market isn’t what it used to be.  I still love the statues but my statue buying days might be behind me.  My LCS told me that they have the Planet Hulk statue from SS in.  I looked at it – and am still considering it – it’s just so expensive and… well, space is a consideration.  Never mind the fact that just because something is bigger doesn’t mean it’s better.  But hey, You buy what you like, right?  And I really love this green goliath!

memories1 018

Leave a Reply

