Hulk #9 (2014) – The Review

CCF12092014_0000

Tell all of your friends, tell anyone you can, if they have ever read and enjoyed the Hulk then they should give the book another try because it’s just plain awesome.  One of the things I try to gauge when reading an issue is am I looking forward to the next issue and Duggan serves that feeling up in spades.  No matter any plot holes that there may be it’s easy to look past them and focus on the pure energy and entertainment of these issues.  Duggan is kicking serious ass on this series and no one should be missing out.  Just like Planet Hulk, I think this will go down in Hulk history as fun must-read!  Let’s get into the good stuff, shall we?  As always, spoilers abound – so stop reading if you don’t want to be in the know.

Hulk #9
W: Duggan
A: Bagley

Doc Green comes banging on Kitty Pryde’s door. He needs her to do the impossible. Take out the Extremis that Stark put in there to save Banner.  Kitty takes on this task with a lot of humor and succeeds in pulling out the mass.  This sets off a massive bleed in Hulk’s brain, excruciating as it is though, Hulk survives it and thanks the girls.  He leaves with another funny moment and we go back to Doc Green’s lab.  He needs some rest.  As we all know though, this isn’t going to be easy as every time Doc goes to sleep Banner takes over.

CCF12092014_0001

Sure enough Banner, doing his best Travis Bickle, starts to try and figure things out – including how to escape the lab.  Doc has thought of everything though, and has the A.I. explaining that it’s best he let Doc Green take back the reigns.  When Banner refuses Doc drops the news that if he doesn’t he will kill Betty Banner.  Bombs are hidden in her house and he will detonate them.  Banner concedes and Doc is back.  We learn that he isn’t the kind of Hulk who bluffs as the bombs detonations are paused.

Doc’s dreams are little psychotic snippets of a future filled with super-hero parts, bloodied and beaten, lain all over.  We even see a scared Rick Jones questioning the motives.  There isn’t any.  I horrific look into the future where Maestro is taking over the Hulk.  Only, what should have scared the pants off of Doc Green only makes him more curious… and of course makes him want to grow a beard.  Holy crap.

CCF12092014_0002

This is a quick read – one of the more sedated issues with no real action going on but still a lot is happening.  It’s a ride and a half and Duggan is taking this Doc Green right to the edge.  While you’re excited that this incarnation is taking care of business and making the gamma-family disappear (thank goodness) he’s also definitely not a hero.  He is terrifying and doesn’t seem to want to reason or debate his motives.  He will succeed in what his mission is and no one will sway him from that.  Grade: A+  Go buy this book!

5 responses to “Hulk #9 (2014) – The Review

  1. This was great. Hulk is turning real bad and I love it. Why not.

    It looks like in 10 red ahole gets the upper hand on Doc. I hope Omega Hulk turns the tables, gets really angry, goes Maestro. and handily, with his bare hands, kills red Ross rather than cure him with some smart trickery.

    I have to say that the art of Bagley Hennessy and Keith is light years more edgy and exciting than anything
    McGuinness did on his run. Almost as good as Jim Lee, who I consider to be the god of all comic atrists.

  2. Totally agree Ratchet – especially the part about looking forward to the next issue being the sign of a good comic. Id go step further and say that in the good old PAD days I used to wonder how I could possibly wait a whole month for the next issue and about a week before it was due out I was literally counting the days. Im not quite at that stage yet, but almost.
    While I cant agree with Loganblue about Bagley – he has turned me around. I used to think he was decidedly average, but Im starting to quite like his work on this comic and his version of Hulk. Cant think he will ever be one of my favourites – but I had the same thing with Gary Frank and he is now one of my top Hulk artists.
    Its great to be excited about Hulk again. Good work Duggan, Bagely et al and thanks.

  3. Let’s see. Where do I begin? There was just so many things that I enjoyed about this particular issue of the Hulk. In fact, it’s one of the most memorable and interesting issues since the days of Greg Pak & Peter David.

    The opening with Doc Green visiting Kitty was awesome… and a bit chilling/creepy. Loved the homage to the Shining homage. And I enjoyed Magik & Kitty’s remarks about transporting Hulk into the sun, which isn’t a good idea at all. Too bad McCoy wasn’t there to explain to her that it’d only result in ticking Hulk/Doc Green off more, plus it’d allow him the chance to absorb the radiation within the star and increase his already limitless might.

    I was really surprised by Doc G’s ultimatum to Banner, especially in how far he was willing to go. I mean, threatening Betty? Wow! This incarnation of the Hulk isn’t one to mess with at all! It really gives you an idea of how far Doc Green will go to ensure that he remains in control of Dr. Banner, whom he out-wits in throughout the entire issue. I guess payback is a bastard instead of a bitch in this case.

    To be fair, though, Betty did allow the order to have Bruce/Hulk killed. And she has betrayed his/their trust in the past more than once. So… yeah. There is that point. Nonetheless, I really enjoyed the whole scene. Reminds me of a bit of dialogue Maestro uttered in PAD’s Incredible Hulk novel “What Savage Beasts”. If you don’t know what I mean, check it out. Solid book. Every major fan of PAD’s Hulk run should have a copy of it.

    Oh, and did I love that dream/vision sequence! We get to see the Hulk/Doc Green be truly free. We get to see him as the Strongest, Angriest, Smartest, Most Dangerous One There is. The one who is destined to slaughter the entire Marvel Universe. The one who is destined to make the Marvel Universe into his own personal trophy.

    THE MAESTRO!!!!!

    And the cool part? Instead of the predictable “I’ve got to change this course and try to prevent this from happening” moment, Doc Green proves us all wrong by uttering: “I think I’ll grow a beard.”

    That was AWESOME!!!!

    I cannot tell you how much I loved this issue, particularly that last part. It really brought a huge smile to my face. If I could, I’d give Gerry Duggan & Mark Bagley a strong hug, a firm handshake, and I’d probably buy them a couple of beers & a big steak.

    This entire issue was incredible. The pace, the dialogue, the direction, and let’s not forget Bagley’s awesome art. That page involving 616-Maestro was truly awe-inspiring and awesome! The team on this book deserves a lot of praise and credit.

    And in closing, all I can say is that it’s gonna be hard to top this issue. However, I’m hoping that Mr. Duggan will grant us fans the biggest favor of all and finally kill Red Hulk/Rulk/General Ross. Nothing would make me happier than to see Doc Green snap, go completely Maestro on Rulk, and deliver a brutal Coup de grâce to that sickening crimson abomination that is Red Hulk.

    Okay, that’s pretty much all I have to say. At least for now.

    SMASH YA LATER!!!!

    • Just to say that the plot and dialogue are great on this one. – Outlaws duty to perform brain surgery on one another. Doc Green will be freed at all costs.

      Just twisttedly entertaining stuff.

  4. I liked it too. Maybe not as much as some of you fellows but I still think it is pretty good. It seems he really wants to become the Maestro. It is a tricky thing making the hero this ruthless. Can Duggan keep him a likable character that we want to read about? Hopefully he will but this is a tricky and could backfire. Finally Duggan said on a CBR forum that the Hulk’s other son,Hiro will not be in this upcoming story. Too bad.

    And yes I agree we have too many Gamma superheroes running around ever since Loeb started his run.

Leave a Reply

