Matt Fletcher and Chris Uminga BCC Commission (2014)

hulk art not shown 002 - Copy

Here’s the thing – I had the idea for this commission about 3 or 4 years ago.  I hadn’t seen this done yet by anyone and wanted to try to put this together by two talented artists.  But, unfortunately, as I only attend Comic Cons on the least busy day (meaning Sunday) the two artists who I wanted to tackle this idea – Matt Fletcher and Chris Uminga – their commission lists were usually already filled to capacity.  It took me years of asking and then finally compromise to let them take it home and bring this vision to life.  What I wanted what a simple but fantastic homage to one of the greatest comic strip ever – The Peanuts – with Hulk characters.

hulk art not shown 002

Four years ago when I had thought of this idea – I hadn’t seen this done yet.  Since then I have seen a few – but this is my favorite.  Well, of course it is, because this one is mine!  Matt Fletcher handled the task of drawing Doc Samson while Uminga drew the Hulk.  Doc Samson’s look is priceless and Doc’s booth is just perfect!  I was so psyched to get this piece finally – it took a little while but when the final product looks like this – the wait is always worth it!

hulk art not shown 002 - Copy - Copy

3 responses to “Matt Fletcher and Chris Uminga BCC Commission (2014)

  1. Very cool. And I have to say, I miss Doc Samson. I always enjoyed it whenever these frenemies either squared off or teamed up. But I guess based on the current Omega Hulk story line, he’s definitely not coming back.

  2. That is a great idea for a commission and Matt and Chris really nailed it!

  3. Who says Samson isn’t coming back? Anyone catch that missing and appearing corpse of Samson in his casket when Doc Green threw a rose in there? What was that about?

Leave a Reply

