Lego Famous Cars

image

Granted, this blog is and will always be about my love for everything Hulk – but I do have other interests – other collections that I thought you guys out there might get a kick out of as well.  So every Thursday I will feature something non-Hulk related.

This week, I proudly display my Lego famous cars – starting with the Mystery Machine!  Made famous by the classic cartoon Scooby-Doo the Mystery Machine provided shelter on the road for the quintet between cases.  It’s aqua and lime green outer shell instantly recognizable by every child lucky enough to catch an episode.  The only issue I had with this set is that it lacks Velma and Daphne – the only two providing estrogen to the group.  Not sure why they were left out but the only way to get the ladies is to purchase the Haunted Mansion and spend an easy $100 in the process.

This is where having friends with children comes in handy.  I told my friend about my purchase (and dismay) of the Scooby gang not being included in with the Mystery Machine.  She said that her son has all the Scooby sets and refuses to play with Velma and Daphne because they are girls.  I didn’t want to get into the fact that she might have a future mysoginist on her hands because she basically offered the two missing missing teammates to me.  This was fantastic as they usually run about $15 each on eBay.

image

Next is Ecto-1, the trusty reverted ambulance/hearse purchased by Ray in the movie as their means of travel between calls.  This set, thankfully, comes with all of the Ghostbusters.  I have seen the firehouse being offered with a Loius Tully, Dana and even Slimer as figures but I think I’m pretty happy with this set on its own.

My last car is the DeLorean from the Back to the Future franchise.  This was the latest acquisition – one that almost didn’t happen!  The first car I bought was Ecto-1 and when I saw the Mystery Machine I thought how perfect a little display would be.  Of course, I was too late to purchase the DeLorean retail but was exasperated to see the secondary prices this piece was bringing in.  Even worse, at the BCC this past year I saw a dealer with it and asked about it.  He smiled and said “make me an offer”.  That sort of practice never makes me feel easy but I threw out a decent number. $50 I told him.  Truthfully, that was more than I wanted to pay but like I said, I was throwing out what I thought was a generous offer.  The man laughed and said “I’m not going to even entertain anything lower than $60.”

image

Listen, that’s his prerogative, but his style really lacked the finess to make a guy like me feel comfortable enough to purchase something from him. Luckily, I was with my friend who has a friend.  You can see where this is going, right?  His friend works for Lego.  His friend also has one of the largest collection of limited Lego sets!  There are times when he buys extras of sets.  When I walked away from the dealer my friend asked me what I was looking to buy.  I let him know and he immediately went to work texting his friend. “Why didn’t you tell me sooner?” He asked me – and I let him know I had no idea he had connections.  Sure enough his friend had one.  He offered it to me for… wait for it… $20.  The box was not mint and he felt like helping a friend out so, really, win-win all around!

Anyways, the pics might not be the best – they were taken with my iPad – but I still hope you enjoyed this post.  Even if it wasn’t gamma-irradiated!

One response to “Lego Famous Cars

  1. Hulk-related or not, those are pretty cool. Who doesn’t like Legos? By the way, where’d you get those display boxes?

Leave a Reply

