It’s Not a Tumor: A Year Worth of Cringe-Worthy Hulk Moments – Week 18

Let’s have a little fun and discuss some of the more graphic, violent, sad, or just plain awkward moments that have plastered the Hulk history.  Be it a passing meeting between spouses of a gruesome scene that nobody saw coming – this year I’ll have you squirming in your seat!

CCF01152016_0001

There aren’t many times you get shocked and disgusted at the same time – but Al Milgrom did it in spades in issue #324 (The return of the Grey Hulk).  This action packed issue contained a moment so odd it belongs in the upper echelon of crazy-shit to ever be published in a funny book.  Doc Samson, with a willing Banner, tries to remove the Hulk from the world – but it does not go all according to plan.

CCF01152016_0000 - Copy

All seems lost when the experiment is going from bad to worse – but it takes a turn into unforgettable when Banner’s head forms from the Hulk’s chest!  Even worse, it’s a suicidal Banner who tries to stab himself in the neck… coming from the Hulk’s chest!

CCF01152016_0000 - Copy (2)

CCF01152016_0000

The Hulk is not going to let Banner off himself – but that doesn’t stop Banner from pleading for the Hulk-busters to finish the job – even when the Hulk turns around… Banner simply forms out of his back instead:

CCF01152016_0002

The end of the issue has the Grey Hulk returning for a moment – only for Banner to re-emerge and claim that the Hulk is gone forever – but we all know better than that, don’t we?

6 responses to “It’s Not a Tumor: A Year Worth of Cringe-Worthy Hulk Moments – Week 18

  1. When I was a kid, I had it in the German language and still remember this shocking scene. Unfortunately I haven’t it anymore.
    I have the trades of Al Milgrom’s run (Pardoned, Regression, Crossroads), but this issue is not collected in any trades.
    I don’t have or buy floppies, because it is much easier for me her in Germany to collect trades, HCs and Omnis.

  2. When I was a kid, I had this comic book in German language and still remember this shocking scene.
    Unfortunately I don’t own it anymore.
    I own trades of Al Milgrom’s run (Pardoned, Regression, Crossroads), but this issue is not collected.
    I don’t buy/own floppies, because it is easier to collect trades, HCs, Omnis here in Germany.

  3. No worries at all! I actually enjoy the Omni format myself. My friend owns the run of Hulk, surfer, iron man all on download. I can’t read comics on my kindle/iPad. I need to hold it in my hands – which is why I like the trades too.

  4. I actually don’t own the Hulk Omnibus Vol. 1, it’s out of print and I am not willing to pay 100 € plus for the Ross variant cover, because I want the original cover.
    I started to collect the Marvel Masterworks Hulk Series, the standard HC edition. It’s too hard to get all the variant covers and furthermore there are most of the time pricier. I own Vol. 1, 8 and 9 so far. I bought them, because I really wanted to read the issue with Aquon, your favorite Hulk issue of all the time. I am going to read it when I have all the missing Hulk Masterworks.
    Producion quality of the Masterworks is really nice: thick paper stock and faux-leather cover.
    Nowadays the production quality of the other Marvel comic books is really poor, especially the oversized HCs with the thin wavy paper…

  5. I do love the MM as well – the quality is perfect. I have them all so far and worth every penny.

Leave a Reply

