Toy vs Toy (vs Toy!) Friday!

img_0280

It is a rarity to have variants from two different sets right on top of each other like this but the latest Marvel Legends Abomination figures have been released – so let’s see which figure is worth the bucks!

img_0279

There is a Build-A-Figure in the latest Captain America Marvel Legends wave and it is pretty impressive.  This classic inspired sculpt is large, bulky and amazingly well done.  In the same breath Marvel also released a San Diego Comic Con exclusive Abomination in “The Raft” set along with Dreadknight, Enchantress, Purple Man, Sandman and, of course, a Spidey figure as well.  Which one is better?  Well, oddly it is the figure with a less detailed paint scheme.  While the BAF is very cool looking and I appreciate the fact that they tried to give the Abomination a distinct look it isn’t one we’ve ever seen portrayed in the comics.  The lighter paint on the belly, face, hands and feet certainly gives it a more reptilian look – which lends itself to a more obvious presence – but it just doesn’t scream out Abomination!

img_0278

The exclusive, which is darker without much paint variation at all, is the better of the two figures.  Even the lighter color on the nails – unlike the black nails on the BAF – looks better!  From there, the toys have very little difference.  I am shocked that both figures are relatively affordable on the secondary market right now.  The better figure of the two, the exclusive, is the less expensive one as well.  If you’re looking to just pick up one of them I throw my hat into the ring for the exclusive all the way!

img_0277

Now, the other question is: How do these Abominations compare to Marvel’s earlier releases?  The 2006 Abomination is larger by a hair, which makes the difference of being a bit taller than the Hulk – as he is supposed to be! You also have the option to form his claws into fists – a detail lacking in the most recent offering – not to mention the obvious articulation is far superior.  It also has a variant that cannot compare – a “melted face” version (pictured) that every Hulk fan out there should have on their “must own list”.  While I enjoy the face sculpt a bit more on the recent figure and I feel the old head mold is a bit too small for the humongous hulking body the truth is that the 2006 Abomination is easily the better figure.

img_0281

What about the Marvel Select Abomination, you ask – well, as big and heavy and impressive as that figure is the oversight of including a five toed foot rather than the trademark humongous two toed clawed feet.  That ONE reason alone disqualifies the figure from the running of best Abomination figure.  Sad but true because otherwise that would be the tops!

img_0282

5 responses to “Toy vs Toy (vs Toy!) Friday!

  1. I’m still waiting and haven’t seen any in my area and you got 2 already, ha. By the way are you gonna pick up Neca Hulk? I just got my Hulk Neca early this week and It’s big n heavy and I like it, but damn could they not have a nice display box to put him in??? $239 might be much for some but I’m ok with the price since this figure is almost as big as the Avengers movie statue with base.

    • I would have to see it in person to really decide but I haven’t heard all that positive responses about it. It’s a lot of money to plunk down on an action figure – no matter how big it is – but if in person it’s impressive I may still go for it.

  2. Hi Ryan-Loved the review-,but I still kinda liked the “regular” version of the Abomination-I like the reptilian look-reminds me of my iguana-and I totally agree with you on the Marvel Select Abomination-it “would be the best” if they had given him his trademark TWO-toed feet-somebody really dropped the ball on this figure when it was approved to be made.
    hey HULK465 how are you?- I got my NECA Hulk from Entertainment Earth the other day and honestly I’m really disappointed in it–from the waist up he looks pretty good but from the waist down he looks awful,legs are way to thin and his pants are to baggy,oh and look at the plastic piece behind the elbows -what’s that about?? I agree with you on the boxing -it’s like NECA had no plans to make a display box(which would have been real nice to keep him in) they gave us display boxes for Cap,Thor and Iron Man from this set -but instead they just threw Hulk in a brown cardboard box-and for $239.00 not to get a display box-that’s not right.I saw the prototype at one of the toy shows awhile back and I thought it was a little rough looking but I thought NECA would “tweak” him a bit- but they didn’t ,Overall I’m not real happy with this figure but that’s just my opinion-Glad you like yours,Take care -Mike

    • Hey Mike – yeah, I knew you’d be chirping in here! LOL! I really wish someone out there would do a custom on the Marvel Select Abomination with the correct feet – I think that would be amazing! I’d snatch it up in a second.

    • Hey Mike nice to be remembered and you are correct and I agree with your view on the Neca Hulk. I just wasn’t as harsh on the figure as you, but you are right. To all the potential buyers out there, here are my pros and cons for the Neca Hulk.
      The GOOD
      – the size and weight
      – fair articulation
      – ok color
      – decent overall look, face not bad
      – pants looks better that the Hot Toys Hulk
      – price $239 vs. Hot Toys Hulk $289 which is smaller and up to the lower chest of Neca Hulk
      The BAD
      – no display box….ugh
      – Hulk is too skinny
      – pants baggy
      – elbow extension
      – not as realistic as Hot toys
      Overall this is by far the biggest action figure of Hulk that I own. It reminds me a little of a jumbo size Mego Hulk and how far we’ve come from those days. That’s why I like it so much. The Neca figure is far from perfect and so far the best realistic figure of the Hulk out there is Hot Toys hands down.

      I would love it if Ratch review it, since he is the leading authority on Hulk stuff. I also respect and understand why he won’t review it.

Leave a Reply

