Daily Archives: February 8, 2017

Catching Up With 2.8.17

current-2

1It would be nice to let you know what’s going on in the world of Hulk but I haven’t really been keeping up.  I peruse the latest issue of Totally Awesome Hulk on the stands but I don’t bother buying it.  What am I reading?  Below are the current titles I still purchase with a quick synopsis and rating:

Unworthy Thor: Current Issue – #3 Jason Aaron finally deals with the repercussions of what happened to Thor during Original Sin.  Thor, no longer Thor and now Odinson, is on a journey of identity.  He hears of a new Mjolnir that has fallen from the sky and he is not the only one.  Aaron is a creative writer who knows his Marvel history (it’s too bad he didn’t bring all this awesomeness to his Hulk run!) and is giving us a fun tale of a former superhero with a identity crisis.  If he is not Thor, then who is he?  He still enjoys a good battle and doesn’t shy away from mixing it up (with his trusty goat) but with the promise of a new hammer Odinson wonders if this is his way to fixing his crisis of faith in himself.

So far: B+

Nova: Current Issue  – #3 I read and enjoyed the 2014 reboot of Sam Alexander taking the helm of the Nova.  The boy trying to balance being a cosmic hero and school was a funny and exciting book.  I skipped the following reboot with Sam finding his Dad (but not his Dad).  Now we continue with Sam Alexander joining forces with the hero from Annihilation, Nova Rich Rider.  Sam is still looking for his Dad, Rich Rider is coping with his… skin condition and together they are encountering bad guys who need pummeling!

So far: B

Hulk: Current Issue – #2 Jen Walters has been coping with the after effects of Civil War II. She is trying to get her life back to normal with a new job at a new law firm and representing a client with a mysterious roommate. I wish the story was moving a little faster and had a better pace.  It seems to be moving too slow to keep my interest but for right now I’m still along for the ride.

So far: C+

Spider-Man 2099: Current Issue – #20 Peter David is still one of my favorite writers – and unlike the writers of today that seem to pace out there issues like a sloth David still delivers some classic superhero tales!  It’s refreshing to read a book and feel like you aren’t just being set up for the next issue with promises of action coming up – but delivering action with every new release! Spidey 2099 also has the honor of being the highest number issue of series I’m currently reading! Miguel O’Hara is battling heroes from the future and terrorists from “The Hand” in todays landscape – and while things aren’t exactly going his way he’s stays ever positive that things will get better.

So far: A-

Thanos: Current Issue – #3 I could look at Deodato’s artwork all day, everyday.  The man is an amazing talent!  The first issue ends with an interesting hook – although, one that isn’t too shocking – SPOILERS: Thanos is dying.  I say it’s not shocking mainly because… he dies all the time now!  That being said, this series has been a thrill ride so far and I hope it keeps up!  Lemire is treating Thanos with all the respect he deserves  – and I keep looking forward to the next issue!

So far: A

Infamous Iron Man: Current Issue – #4 Dave from Zapp Comics told me to check out this title.  It is an interesting take where Marvel’s biggest bad (Doom) is on a path to redemption by picking up the mantle of Iron Man.  Trying to be a good guy after years of trying to take down heroes isn’t as easy Doom would like.  The pace, again, is a bit slower than I’d like – with 4 issues in nothing has really happened, short of a small scuffle with Grim.  I am enjoying it though and look forward to the next issue.

So far: B

I did read the last TAH issue and was left scratching my head.  The whole issue revolved around the new heroes patting themselves on the back for the amount of diversity that is now spread across the MU.  While I have nothing against diversity – I certainly am not looking for a whole issue of the heroes talking about it – I want the Hulk beating up bad guys!  Anyways, what are you guys reading?  Are you reading any of the same titles?  What do you think?

Old School Ads

cci02052017_0001-2

Nothing revved my engine more than seeing a new Hulk item being promoted.  I miss ads like these too – mainly because they teased in the perfect way without giving away anything at all.  It was the kind of teaser that truly inspired excitement.  What other hero could possibly sell video games with just a silhouette and the mention of his skin color?  No one, I tell you, no one!