Daily Archives: April 4, 2017

Sideshow Collectibles Hulk vs Wolverine Maquette (2017)

IMG_0535 (2)

I have always been a little more critical of Sideshow with their products than most other high end collectible companies.  Sideshow has certainly had some comic fans divided over the years as they have produced what some consider the absolute best that anyone has ever offered.  Others, like myself, have voiced their preference to want the charters reflect what is shown in the comics.  Sideshow has always chosen a more realistic style that has worked with some pieces (the original Hulk PF comes to mind – still to date the absolute pinnacle of what SS is capable of producing) while other pieces suffer (The Hulk Comicquette, buzz cut and all).

IMG_0536

IMG_0537

Recently SS released a Hulk Maquette that I was on the fence about ordering but ultimately scrapped the idea due to the multiple releases of the same sculpt.  I never really thought much about buying anything SS ever again until I got a glimpse of the Hulk vs Wolverine Maquette.  From the get go this project got me excited!  Seeing progress updates on Statue Forum kept my interest piqued as it looked as though they were finally releasing a Hulk that looked like it jumped right off the page!

IMG_0538

Even the original SS PF Hulk is criticized for looking too “ape-ish” – a complaint I take with a grain of salt since the Hulk did have simian features in the silver age – but the moment I saw pictures of the Hulk I saw the creators were leaning toward an enraged, classic looking savage Hulk!  In classic SS fashion there are still more realistic details and when I heard there will be an inclusion of metal claws I went to my LCS immediately and discussed ordering this dio.

IMG_0540 (2)

The last dio SS offered with the Hulk was the Planet Hulk vs Silver Savage – the unfortunate thing about that piece is the size was a bit underwhelming.  Here, size is certainly not an issue!  This thing is massive and impressive!  This piece is almost 2 feet tall!  I can not express enough how large and intimidating this piece is!  I even had a hard time getting the box into my car to drive it home!

IMG_0539 (2)

The Hulk’s shaggy hair and wildly rageful expression is perfectly captured as he stares upward to a gritting teeth, angry Wolverine.  The base is even a refreshing but still familiar look as the Hulk’s foot splinters a large log in a rocky terrain.  The Wolverine seems to be slashing as he jumps at the raging behemoth.  I have never been a fan of the high end collectibles based off of the movie versions – just not my taste – and usually SS has priced themselves out of my price range – but every once in a while the stars align and everything comes together to create a perfect piece of Hulk memorabilia that every Hulk collector should own!

IMG_0542 (2)

IMG_0541

