A Flurry of Action Figures – and a New Addition!

A while back when my wife and I were going to have our second child I needed some quick renovations to the house.  I’ve mentioned it before on here but I had decided to sell off a chunk of my Hulk figures and comics to fund the repairs.  Well, the moment of regret hit me pretty hard – wishing I had never went through with the sale – I was happy I had replaced the carpet and Washer/Dryer but I seriously missed the pieces that were no longer  in the Hulk room… where they belonged.  An amazing chance meeting with a friend – who goes by Gammapup on this site – who was looking to turn in some Hulk figures to Zapp Comics actually replaced a good chunk of the figures I lost.  Still, to this day, it is the most generous and wonderful gesture that has ever happened to me.

IMG_0548 (2)

Some of the figures till missing from the collection I have been able to slowly replace over the years.  The first was the original Toy Biz classic Marvel Superheroes Incredible Hulk.  I have missed this figure – and this may sound silly – but really for the bendy “steel” bar and boulder accessories he comes with.  The boulder makes sense somewhat but the steel bar?  Why would anyone bend a steel bar like this?  Other than to show off – and who is the Hulk trying to impress?

IMG_0545 (2)

Next up is the Battle Action Hulk from the 2003 movie.  It’s one of the largest and more impressive Hulk figures released.  Originally I was able to snag it from Comically Speaking, a shop in Reading, MA, but this time around I had to go to eBay.  It’s never my first choice to but it off the internet but I saw it for an incredibly good deal and could not resist.

IMG_0545 (3)

IMG_0533 (2)

Moving on, the last replacement figure is one of the more expensive figures.  When I sold them to Zapp I was shocked to learn that these Transformers hybrids were pretty scarce and going for a premium.  This is the original release – there is still a grey version and another green Hulk figure to replace – but I was psyched to get this for Christmas from my wife.

IMG_0546 (2)

The last figure in the post is a new one to the collection – a figure I have never had before – from the 2003 Hulk movie once again, the Rapid Punch Hulk.  My wife was at the Toy Vault and she started sending me pics of the Hulk figures they had there.  I was laughing because I had everything she was sending – a regular occurrence – until she sent me a photo of this Hulk.  I knew from the pose that this Hulk was not one of the ones I had in the Hulk room already and, in all caps, wrote back “BUY THAT NOW!!!!!”

IMG_0547

Thankfully, she did.  While I wish the condition of the packaging was better but truly, it doesn’t matter too much.  The figure itself is still mint.  Anyways, This is a run-down of the figures that have made their way back into my collection.  Couldn’t be happier – but honestly, room is starting to become an issue!

Leave a Reply

