The Good, The Bland and the Ugly Comic Reviews – The Incredible Hulk #9 (2024)

hulk 9

Writer: Phillip Kennedy Johnson
Artist: Danny Earls
Artist: Colors Matthew Wilson
Cover Price: $4.99
Secondary Market: $3.77-$29.99
Covers: 4
  • Regular Cover
  • Capullo Cover
  • Marvel ’97 Cover
  • 1:50 Capullo Virgin Cover
Publisher: Marvel Comics

Frozen Charlotte: Part 1

Another town… another monster. Now Banner and Charlie find themselves in New Orleans. While I like the direction of having the Hulk fight monsters this series is starting to feel a little late 90’s CW prime time.  The guest artist didn’t help much into making this issue exciting. While Danny Earls did a proficient job, following series regular, Nic Klein, highlights how much better Klein’s style fits with the tone and feel of this book. Even the gruesome transformation scene didn’t have the impact that other artists seemed to have nailed.

Overall, I am still along for the ride, but I am hoping to begin seeing a more focused direction. What is Banner’s ultimate goal? It’s not like he WANTS to fight monsters. Is Charlie just a magnet for evil? I hope Johnson begins giving his narrative a purpose rather than just introducing a new monster every storyline while changing the setting to make it seem new.

Villains: Frozen Charlotte
Rating: Good
BLAND
Ugly

Published by ratchet

I am a man. I like the world I live in. I would like it better if pumpkins were available year-round though...

Leave a comment