Marvel Universe Cards (1993)

Hulk Card - #1
Back of Card

They did something REAL interesting for this set.  While each character still had their own card – they made it so that each 9 cards made up a bigger scene together.  Hulk takes the #1 position in this set as well – just like in 1993’s Marvel Masterpieces… kind of odd… but Samson also gets his first spot in a card set as well!

Doc Samson -#7
The Whole Shebang!

There are many Hulk vs. cards, including the Hulk vs Leader, Hulk vs. X-Factor and Hulk vs. Hulk.  The art for this set is pretty nice – although, the chase cards for this set left something to be desired.  Mostly they were Red foil cards of the 2099 characters – none for Hulk 2099 even – but the major card to snag in this series… which I have… was the Spiderman vs Venom hologram card.  There are even variations on those cards… but hey, they aren’t the Hulk so I don’t care…

Hulk vs Leader
Hulk vs X-Factor

 While I do have this whole set and am not looking for any – I do have a couple extra 2099 chase cards – if anyone out there need them.  Email me and we’ll talk!  Maybe you have something I need!  Next up?!?  Ummm… the new Marvel Masterpieces?  I’m not sure – I’ll have to look and see what I have posted and what I have left!

Hulk vs Hulk
FF vs Secret Defenders

Published by ratchet

I am a man. I like the world I live in. I would like it better if pumpkins were available year-round though...

4 thoughts on “Marvel Universe Cards (1993)

  1. Really great concept. Keep this up man, I’m loving remembering things I didn’t know I remembered, heh.

    Also, I have no idea where my cards went. I’m thinking they are in my friend’s basement who I haven’t spoken to in 5 or 6 years. I’m not sure though, but if I can get my hands on them… all yours!

  2. Sorry to get off the subject but I have to asks a fellow die-hard Hulk fan- 1) What do you think of Mark Ruffalo as Banner? 2)What do you think of the micro-mini’s of Hulk in the Avengers series? Looking foward to your Koto/Abomination/Mcdons review.

    1. Ruffalo as Banner would kind of rock!

      I haven’t really read the Avengers just yet…

      I will be reviewing those soon 465 – Promise!

  3. You know I’m taking about the Avengers cartoon coming out on 10/20/10 for the 2nd question, right? Check out Marvelhub or comicbookmovies for Hulk knocking off Absorbing man’s arm.

Leave a comment