The Ultimate Hulk Annual #1 (2009) – The Review

Ultimate Hulk #1
Ultimate Hulk #1

When, oh when, can we expect a Hulk story NOT written by Loeb.  I don’t know too much about the Ultimate Hulk – how he differs from the Hulk in the regular universe – but in the Ultimate Human mini-series the Hulk was completely badass!  Everything that they threw at him he handled and more!  So, Loeb takes over and… well the Hulk gets beaten up.

So we begin with Zarda beating the heck out of four super soldiers who were holding hostages for ransom.  Cap intervenes and saves the life of one of them telling Zarda that the Ultimates don’t take the life of anyone – including villains.  Zarda didn’t think that human lives were worth anything.  Cap tells her to take a trip and live life a little – wait… wasn’t that the plot of  Coming to America?  Anyways, Zarda takes off and we join her in a diner as she eats dinner. 

Before we continue – I have to tell you that the first 9 pages were drawn by McGuinness – the rest of the book was drawn by Marko Djurdjevic.  While both artists are incredible and really make the book worthwhile, I always find it distracting when more than one artist draws a book.  Here it’s not too bad – it’s almost as if the book is split in two anyways.

So, finally, the Hulk shows up in this book.  The Hulk annual and the Hulk doesn’t show up until half way through it.  But now that he does he’s looking to eat something at the same diner Zarda is at.  The only issue is… he’s naked.  They refuse him service.  Of course they do.  Hulk gets mad and starts to smash.  This is when Zarda gets involved.  She battles the Hulk – but more like hands him his a$$ – then drags him to a Big and Tall Men’s shop and buys him pants.  They go back to the restaurant and eat – then, for some odd reason, Zarda asks the Hulk if there’s anything else he’d like to do… then they go to a motel and do it.  Yup – they do it.  And I mean the naughty it.

This story, unfortunately, is a waste of space and time.  Was it entertaining?  Yes…?  Just slightly.  Still not a great Hulk story – I’m thinking Loeb doesn’t even LIKE the Hulk character.  Look what he has done to him!  This story gets a D

Published by ratchet

I am a man. I like the world I live in. I would like it better if pumpkins were available year-round though...

11 thoughts on “The Ultimate Hulk Annual #1 (2009) – The Review

  1. Wait, THE IT?? WHAT HAS LOEB DONE TO MY FAVORITE SUPER-HUMAN-HERO-ANTI-HERO
    Am I the only planning to murder him(I can’t because I’d go to prison etc etc and then I wouldn’t be able to collect hulk things and read hulk stuff Like the whole village of hulks thing I have now)? His daughter’s li’l hulk is better than his writing!

  2. There is no way in hell that she can knock down Hulk…Hulk would crush her like a bug ! I found that odd and stupid, one punch and hes out ! WTF

  3. That’s the pain of having way too many universes and too many Hulks…you have nothing to compare it to.

    I’m starting to think they should do a Hulk mini-series where the Green (just dont write him as stupid) and Grey Hulk murder EVERY Hulk in every universe that we’ve been introduced to!

    They co-exist taking turns and tadda, we can get this back on the rails!

  4. Wow, Zarda is the equal in strength of Hyperion whos is the Marvel version of superman – but of course what a complicated character hulk is ….. get stronger until you can beat anyone ….. Ultimate hulk battles god, allah, etc & gets so strong he kills them & knocks out the universe! Now I remember why I prefer everyone to hulk …

  5. Lets see the Hulk has defeated every superhero in marvel plus he has defeated gods such as Thor was kicked out of Asgard’s Hell because he was destroying it and in World War Hulk he kicks everybody’s ass, but then comes along some boney ass chick and defeats him.If Stan Lee was Dead he would be rolling over in his grave along with Jack Kirby right now, I don’t know who this jack ass that the new marvel has writing for them but they need to shit can his ass quick because he is ruining the Marvel Universe. I have been a Hulk and Marvel Fan for 45 years but I can see now that the new owners have no loyalty to their oldest fans. I for one will not being anymore Marvel comics,movies or collectibles in the future until they fire that asshole and bring back the Hulk as we know him as the mightiest hero in Marvel comics. One more thing I would like to get off my chest ,the red Hulk sucks too, I found the language and the rape of the She Hulk disgusting,I got my grand kids reading Marvel I don’t wanting them reading such garbage ,you new owners of Marvel need to get your heads out of your ass.God how I miss Stan Lee.

    a

    after

    j

  6. It is possible for another character to defeat Hulk (as in “What if ..” when Thor breaks his neck, Iron Man knocks him out, The Thing knocks him out, Sub-Mariner knocks him out, Superman could hit him approx 200,000,000 times a second, the Vision can become intangible & then place his hand inside Hulk, Juggernaut has beaten Hulk, etc) even though he is more powerful than Odin & Galactus & Eternity & God all together according to some posters here – am a new fan of the Red Hulk who has a good character development, much better than “Hulk smash God & Allah” with traditional Hulk.

Leave a comment