Incredible Hulk #6 (1963)

hulk6

Just look at that cover!  I know, the comic is in terrible shape, but it’s freakin’ Incredible Hulk #6!  At a time when artists and writers didn’t even put their names on the cover!  Little did they know then that they would become legends.  Kirby’s style created the look and excitement to almost every flagship character for Marvel.  Stan Lee wrote stories that could grip the minds of young children all over the country.  And let’s not forget Steve Ditko (who penciled this issue) who was essential in bringing Kirby’s pencil’s to the forefront.  Is the language a little hokey now?  Sure, but who cares!  The Incredible Hulk character was already 14 when I was born and had already lived through cancellation, re-coloring, and reclaiming his own title again! 

 Every issue of the original first 6 had a new exciting change to the Hulk persona.  In this issue, you meet the Metal Master and  you also see the Teen Brigade which teen Rick Jones founded, and Bruce Banner and Betty Ross’ tumultuous relationship has it’s first big hurdle – Thunderbolt Ross finding out! 

Any Hulk fan should try to get any of the first 6 issues.  They are as important as they are works of art and amazing to see in person.  My copies aren’t the best – but it is all I can afford right now and I’m just excited to get any of them at all!  And the older they get the more expensive they will be.  These are rare, and I don’t mean “rare” like retailers mean it today, saying something’s rare just to try to sell a book, I mean, these books didn’t have a big initial printing in the first place so getting any copy now is hard – unless you have the cash.

Published by ratchet

I am a man. I like the world I live in. I would like it better if pumpkins were available year-round though...

Leave a comment